A.J. Scahill Stakes Race Information

The A.J. Scahill Stakes is a 1400 metre weight-for-age race run by the West Australian Turf Club in late November or early December. It is held at Ascot on Kingston Classic Day.

  • Race Type: Group 3
  • Distance: 1400 metres
  • Conditions: Weight-for-age, 3YO & upwards
  • Track: Ascot Racecourse, Perth, Western Australia
  • Prizemoney: $1,500,000
  • Date: Saturday 16 December 2023

A.J. Scahill Stakes Race History

See the 2023 Damien Oliver Gold Rush Preview and results.

See the 2022 Gold Rush Preview and results.

The race was first held as a Principal Race over 1200m in 1978 and was won by Burgess Queen. It 1979 it was given its current Group 3 status. In 1980 the distance was increased to 1400m and has remained at that distance except for 1983 when it was over 1450m. In 2003 it was run at Belmont instead of Ascot.

In 2022 the name was changed from the A.J. Scahill Stakes to The TABTouch Gold Rush and the prizemoney was boosted from $125,000 to $1,500,000.

Who was A.J. Scahill ?

Allan J. Scahill  was born in 1901 and served on the Committee of the Western Australian Turf Club from 1953 to 1975. In 1975 he was vice chairman.  He was also a founding member of the Western Australian TAB. He passed away in 2000.

Useful Facts

Last mare to win: Silverstream (2017)

Last 3YO to win: C&G Hakin Boy (1980); Filly – Burgess Queen (1978)  (These are the only two 3YOs to win).

Multiple winners: Watermans Bay (2014 & 2015)

Fastest time (1400m): Eastern Temple (1985) 1:21:2

Interesting trivia: Champion jockey Damien Oliver had his last race ride on Munhamek in 2023. He won at $7.

Past winners of the A.J. Scahill Stakes

Winners of past A.J. Scahill Stakes include Vega Magic (2016), Watermans Bay (2014 & 2015), Grand Nirvana (2011), Waratah’s Secret (2010), Takeover Target (2008), Marasco (2006), Tribula (2001), Willoughby (1998), Bold Extreme (1997), Island Morn (1996), Pago Escort (1992), Medicine Kid (1990), Miss Muffett (1988),King Phoenix (1987),  Heron Bridge (1986), Haulpak’s Image (1983), Blazing Bags (1981) and Burgess Queen (1978).

Year Winner Second Third
2023 Munhamek Ripcord Comfort Me
2022 The Astrologist Kissonallforcheeks Comfort Me
2021 Valour Road Stageman Massimo
2020 Kementari Celebrity Queen Dance Music
2019 The Celt Valour Road Abdicator
2018 Arcadia Prince Great Shot Red Publisher
2017 Silverstream Properantes Django
2016 Vega Magic Chocolate Holic First Among Equals
2015 Watermans Bay Magnifisio Respondent
2014 Watermans Bay Magnifisio Antique Belle
2013 Conservatorium Luke’s Luck Power Princess
2012 Power Princess Waratah’s Secret Conservatorium
2011 Grand Nirvana Waratah’s Secret Grey Monarch
2010 Waratah’s Secret Hadabeclorka Elliotto
2009 Proart Tarzi Elliotto
2008 Takeover Target Tarzi Royal Lott
2007 Tarzi Glory Hunter Grasspatch Girl
2006 Marasco Mansion House Hartley’s Dream
2005 Arctic Park Star Laser Is Amazing
2004 Avenida Madero Eastern Standard Who Did It
2003 Hot Shot Brother Kame’s Hope Kaprats
2002 Kensyl Bay Irish Pride Early Express
2001 (Dec) Tribula Lady Belvedere Exit Lane
2001(Jan) Lizzy Long Legs Master Park Star System
2000 Terwilliger Willoughby Jevanswer
1999 Double Blue Jacks Or Better Summer Beau
1998 Willoughby Wolf Pack Jacks Or Better
1997 Bold Extreme Bradson Century Blazer
1996 Island Morn Century Blazer Wabasso
1995 Calypso Sudden Burst Doctor Golly
1994 Brave Kite Chantes Path King Diamond
1993 Yilgangie Gold Straight No Ice Pago Escort
1992 Pago Escort Blonde Jev Hard Act
1991 Strip The Moon Century God Scorndale
1990 Medicine Kid Carry A Smile Island Gossip
1989 Westall Stylish Lord Hanging On
1988 Miss Muffet Jev Power Race For Pleasure
1987 King Phoenix Rising Prince Kickaway
1986 Heron Bridge Coal Pak Haulpak’s Image
1985 Eastern Temple Heron Bridge Manta Boy
1984 Hanging In Copper Rocket Mannaku
1983 Haulpak’s Image Nitro Lad Ksar Royal
1982 Latin Saint Iko Tower Belle
1981 Blazing Bags Bungler Magic Gipsy
1980 Hakim Boy Micron Elegant Shell
1979 Junction Girl Western Coast Burgess Queen
1978 Burgess Queen Belinda’s Star Private Section