Canberra Cup Race Information

The Canberra Cup is a 2000 metre handicap run by the Canberra Racing Club. The race was traditionally held in October, but in 2012 was moved to March to be held on the same day as the Black Opal Stakes..

  • Race Type: Listed
  • Distance: 2000 metres
  • Conditions: Quality handicap
  • Track: Thoroughbred Park, Canberra, Australian Capital Territory
  • Prizemoney: $250,000
  • Date: Sunday 10 March 2024

Canberra Cup Race History

See the 2024 Canberra Cup Preview and results.

See the 2023 Canberra Cup Preview and results.

See the 2022 Canberra Cup Preview and results.

The Canberra Cup was first run in 1926 over a distance of 1600 metres, and the inaugural winner Spec also won the following year. There have been several distance changes over the years as it was 1600 metres until 1952 when it was lengthened to 1750 metres for 1953 and 1954. It was run over 1800 metres from 1955 to 1962, became 2000 metres from 1963 to 1975 and then went to 2400 metres from 1976 to 1995. Since 1996 it has been 2000 metres. There is a maximum field of 16 runners.

The Canberra Cup became a Listed race in 1984. There are many years when it was not run – from 1930 to 1935 it was not held due to the depression and from 1941 to 1945 it was not held because of World War II. It was also not held in 1947, 2006 and 2011. The 2006 Cup was cancelled due to reconstruction of the track and the 2011 running was not held due to a rearrangement of the Canberra racing calendar.

In 2011 the decision was made to move the Canberra Cup from its traditional September/October timing to run it on Black Opal Stakes Sunday in March. More recently Canberra has introduced a two-day racing carnival with the Group 3 Black Opal Stakes for two-year-olds and the Listed National Sprint over 1400m on the Sunday and the Canberra Cup and the Listed Canberra Guineas on the Monday which is a public holiday in Canberra. It is the major race carnival in Canberra and has Fashions on the Field competitions, plenty of activities for children and a concert after the last race.

Useful Facts

Last mare to win: Fill The Page (2012)

Multiple winners: Macknuckle (2009 & 2010); (Reingard (1985 & 1986); Crazy Notion (1961 & 1962); Spec (1926 & 1927)

Fastest time (2000m): Padfoot Charlie (2001) 2:02:02

Canberra Cup & Cox Plate: Superimpose (1992)

Leading trainers: Gai Waterhouse has been the most successful trainer in recent years with 5 wins (Dark Eyes 2017; Hippopus 2016: So Assertive 2004: Regal Touch 2000; Jay Cee Bee 1995) but her father TJ Smith won the race 6 times (Sir Mountable 1991; Rajaman 1989; Combat 1983; Over The Ocean 1979; Free Enterprise 1978; Hot Land 1977).

Interesting trivia: Race not run in 2006.

Past winners of the Canberra Cup

Local trainers have often had success in the Canberra Cup, although most years there are a number of Sydney horses running.  No Canberra Cup winner has won the Melbourne Cup, but 1992 winner Superimpose went on to win the Cox Plate.  Other notable winners include Samadoubt (2019),Padfoot Charlie (2001), Iron Horse (1998), Foxseal (1984), Nicholas John (1982), Hot Land (1977),  Forgive (1966) and Alinga (1953).

Year Winner Second Third
2024 Almania Redstone Well So United
2023 Arapaho Explosive Jack Athabascan
2022 Sacramento Dadoozdart Five Kingdom
2021 Mr Marathon Man Dadoozdart Aussie Nugget
2020 Mugatoo Fun Fact Maid Of Ore
2019 Samadoubt Taikomochi Almost Court
2018 Almost Court Admiral Jello Get On The Grange
2017 Dark Eyes Cool Chap Coolcat Dancer
2016 Hippopus Off The Rails Centre Pivot
2015 Faust Burbero World Wide
2014 Jacquinot Bay Honourable Aussie Extra Zero
2013 Court Connection Coliseo Sindarin
2012 Fill The Page World Wide Coliseo
2011 *race not held
2010 Macknuckle Rock Kingdom Fast Future
2009 Macknuckle Spinney Vintage Rock
2008 Blutigeroo Imvula Vintage Rock
2007 Testa Grande Step Forward Red Robert
2006 (event was cancelled)
2005 Beat The Tide Beau Bush Honey
2004 So Assertive Prime Century (NZ) Red Robert
2003 Mooring’s Melody Spading Rocksinga
2002 Benmanang Bedouin The Man
2001 Padfoot Charlie Velsontas (NZ) Yippyio
2000 Regal Touch (NZ) Padfoot Charlie Splendid Retreat
1999 Maltese Beauty Arkady Pursuits
1998 Iron Horse Bozeman McJoey
1997 Down In Monterey Kingston Shores Dorsel
1996 Dancing Sun The Phantom Chance Deja Slew

From the archives:

Canberra Cup Preview & Tips 2018

Track: Good  Weather: Fine

Following the scratching of Emperor’s Way the emergency Rose’s Song gets a run, giving a capacity field of 16 runners for the $200,000 Canberra Cup. The early favourite is Show A Star who has 2 wins and 2 places from 4 runs this campaign. Vying for second favouritism are Get On The Grange who has been performing well at this distance range, and local hope Almost Court who dead-heated for first over 2000m at Randwick on 17 February.

Auvray and Imperial Aviator finished 6th and 8th in the Parramatta Cup last start. Gamblestown has been very consistent this campaign without winning. More Energy won the Parramatta Cup and could go well here. Jacquinot Bay is now a ten-year-old, but he won this race in 2014 and could surprise. All other runners are currently $11 or more in a fairly open race.

The following are the top 4 selections from our tipster panel for this years race.

Jo’s Tips
10 Almost Court
2 Show A Star
3 More Energy
14 Newtown Bluebag