AJC Metropolitan Handicap

The AJC Metropolitan Handicap is a 2400 metre race held under open handicap conditions for horses three-year-old and upwards at Randwick. It is run in October on Epsom Handicap Day by the Australian Jockey Club.

  • Race Type: Group 1, 3YO & Up Open Handicap
  • Distance: 2,400 metres
  • Track: Randwick Racecourse, Sydney, New South Wales
  • Date: Saturday, 3 October 2015

The AJC Metropolitan Handicap has a long history and was first run over 16 furlongs (about 3200 metres) in 1863 when it was won by Regno. The distance was reduced to 12 furlongs in 1892 and there have been other distance changes until it became the current 2400 metres in 2001. The only year the race was not held was in 2007 when an outbreak of equine influenza (EI) caused many races in Australia to be cancelled.

Many horses have their lead-up race in the Group 3 Colin Stephen Quality Handicap over 2400 metres, and many have won the Colin Stephen – Metropolitan double including Railings (2005), Dress Circle (2001), Coco Cobanna (2000), Vita Man (1999), In Joyment (1998), Heart Ruler (1997), Hula Flight (1996) and Zamination (1993).

2015 The Metropolitan Handicap Final Field & Odds:

See below for the latest AJC Metropolitan Handicap odds and final field.

‘Odds not currently available’

2015 AJC Metropolitan Handicap Tips:

Track: Good   Weather: Fine

There are 14 runners for the $750,000 McGrath Estate Agents The Metropolitan, following the early scratching of Hawkspur. The early favourite is Magic Hurricane who was a close 2nd in the Group 2 Hill Stakes last outing and has won over this distance. Second favourite is Beaten Up who has been solid in all 3 runs this preparation and was 4th in the Hill Stakes last start. Third favourite is Almoonqith who hit the line strongly in the G3 Naturalism Stakes and has won over 2800m in Dubai.

Chance To Dance has won over 2400m in Ireland and can improve third-up. Junoob should be at his peak after three runs this preparation. Beyond Thankful has won 4 of his last 5 starts and should not be underestimated – he comes off a tough win in the 2300m G3 Newcastle Cup. Orbec has been placed in all 3 Australian runs and will go well again. All other runners are currently at 14 to 1 or longer.

For tips on this years Metropolitan Handicap check out the top picks from our expert racing tipster panel. Tips for the weekends racing are uploaded every Friday The following are the top 4 selections from our tipster panel for this years race.

Jo’s Tips
Mick’s Picks
Ed’s Choice
4 Beyond Thankful  8 Magic Hurricane  4 Beyond Thankful
1 Beaten Up  14 Havana Cooler  8 Magic Hurricane
8 Magic Hurricane  4 Beyond Thankful  9 Chance To Dance
10 Orbec  1 Beaten Up  1 Beaten Up

Previous winners of the AJC Metropolitan Handicap:

As the Metropolitan is held on the last major race day of the Sydney spring carnival the stronger contestants continue their spring campaigns in Melbourne. Metropolitan winners that have gone on to win the Caulfield Cup are Tawqeet (2006), Railings (2005), Hayai (1983) and Redcraze (1956). Metropolitan winners to win the Melbourne Cup are Macdougal (1959), Straight Draw (1957), Dalray (10952), Delta (1951) and Tim Whiffler (1867).

No horse has ever won the Australian handicap treble of the AJC Metropolitan, Caulfield Cup and Melbourne Cup. Five horses have won the race twice and these are Hayai (1983 and 1984), Tails (1969 and 1970), Murray Stream (1945 and 1947), Cagou (1913 and 1917) and Mooltan (1907 and 1908).

Year Winner Second Third
2015 Magic Hurricane Beaten Up Havana Cooler
2014 Opinion(Junoob was disqualified) Araldo Kingdoms
2013 Seville Julienas Sneak A Peek
2012 Glencadam Gold Kelinni Reuben Percival
2011 The Verminator Hawk Island Lamasery
2010 Herculian Prince Mourayan No Wine No Song
2009 Speed Gifted Lodge The Deeds Fiumicino (NZ)
2008 Newport Bianca (NZ) Get Up Jude
2006 Tawqeet (USA) Activation (NZ) Vanquished
2005 Railings Run Rita Run Men At Work (NZ)
2004 County Tyrone Itemise (USA) Don Raphael
2003 Bedouin Daneborogh Bodie (NZ)
2002 Victory Smile (NZ) Piachay (NZ) Dress Circle (NZ)
2001 Dress Circle (NZ) Danyon Homewrecker (NZ)
2000 Coco Cobanna (NZ) Pasta Express Citra’s Prince (NZ)