Weetwood Handicap Race Information

The Weetwood Handicap is a 1200 metre quality handicap race run by the Toowoomba Turf Club in September. It is held at Toowoomba as part of the Spring Racing Carnival.

  • Race Type: Listed
  • Distance: 1200 metres
  • Conditions: Quality handicap, 3YO & upwards
  • Track: Toowoomba Racecourse, Toowoomba, Queensland
  • Prizemoney: $160,000
  • Date: Saturday 23 September 2023

Weetwood Handicap Race History

See the 2023 Toowoomba Weetwood Handicap Preview and results.

See the 2022 Weetwood Handicap Preview and results.

One of Queensland’s oldest races, the Weetwood Handicap was first run in 1895. It was traditionally held in late March or early April in conjunction with the annual agricultural show, but in 2019 Racing Queensland made the announcement that both the Weetwood and the Toowoomba Cup (2000m) would shift to late September in 2020. This timing coincides with the Toowoomba Carnival of Flowers festival and gives them their own spring carnival.

Useful Facts

Last mare to win; Sexy Eyes (2019)

Multiple winners: Miss Imagica (2012 & 2013); Tellem (2005 and 2007); Combo (1974 & 1975); Wine And Song (1969 & 1970); Red Shah ( 1966 & 1967).

Fastest time (1200m): Sexy Eyes (2019) 1:10:5

Leading jockeys: Stathi Katsidis with 5 wins (Tellem 2005 & 2007; Devill 2004; Startell 2001; Vacen Lee 2000).

Interesting trivia: in 2017 there was a dead-heat between Jumbo Prince and Col ‘N’ Lil.

Past winners of the Weetwood Handicap

Winners of past Weetwood Handicaps include local and city horses.

Year Winner Second Third
2023 All That Pizzazz Yellow Brick Doctor Zous
2022 Axe Mass Destruction Garibaldi
2021 Apache Chase Desert Lord Royal Hale
2020 Jadentom Red Chase Fiery Heights
2019 Sexy Eyes Tycoon Ace Mishani Hustler
2018 Amanaat Hi I’m Back Jumbo Prince
2017 Col’N’Lil
Jumbo Prince
 * dead-heat 1st Siegfried
2016 Choice Bro Coolring Pillar of Creation