WATC Tattersall’s Cup Race Information

The WATC Tattersall’s Cup is a 2100 metre quality handicap race run by the West Australian Turf Club in November. It is held at Ascot on Railway Stakes day.

  • Race Type: Listed
  • Distance: 2100 metres
  • Conditions: Quality handicap, 3YO & upwards
  • Track: Ascot Racecourse, Perth, Western Australia
  • Prizemoney: $125,000
  • Date: Saturday 25 November 2023

WATC Tattersall’s Cup Race History

See the 2023 A.J. Scahill Cup Preview and results

See the 2022 A.J. Scahill Cup/ WATC Tattersall’s Cup Preview and results

The race was over 2200m until 2009, and from 2010 onwards has been run over 2100m. In 2021 it is being run as the Japan Racing Association Trophy. In 2022 it was renamed the A J Scahill Cup with a revamp of the carnival. Another race previously had this name.

Useful Facts

Last mare to win: Mississippi Delta (2018)

Multiple winners: Marocchino (2021 & 2022)

Fastest time (2100m): New Spice (2011) 2:09:14

Interesting trivia: Justin Warwick trained the winner in 2013 (Black Tycoon), 2014 (Global Flirt) and 2015 (Dubai Escapade).

Past winners of the WATC Tattersall’s Cup

Winners of past WATC Tattersall’s Cups include some nice staying types.

Year Winner Second Third
2023 Be Optimistic Casino Seventeen Black Fantasy
2022 Marocchino Neufbosc Chili Is Hot
2021 Marocchino Bad Wolf Stafford’s Lad
2020 Royal Command Paddy’s Shadow Arctic Stream
2019 Missile Launch Taxagano Forceful
2018 Mississippi Delta Blue Tracer First Affair
2017 Trap For Fool’s Falcon Crest Ihtsahymn
2016 Respondent Dark Alert Kia Ora Koutou
2015 Dubai Escapade Kirov Boy Young Lionel
2014 Global Flirt Son Of Something Kirov Boy
2013 Black Tycoon Knightlike Daneclicked
2012 Moonlight Bay Starlight Lady Malaika
2011 New Spice Peg’s Pride Knightlike
2010 Aquinas Brandy Lane Guyno
2009 Ma Chienne Biara Rose Marine Drive
2008 Doyoudare Dante’s Dash Mikaldico
2007 Cats Fun Ronnie Black Douglas
2006 Zoometric Ramiro Coal Seam
2005 Black Tom Al Didnavadad Our Grey Halo
2004 Crown Prosecutor Local Product Reigning Fort
2003 Free At Last Celtus True Steel
2002 Blevvo Bold Mirage So Canny
2001 Never Blue Lottila Bay Special Jester
2000 Dance Hit Lottila Bay Eulogic
1999 Lottila Bay Real Currency Old Cobber