W J McKell Cup Race Information

The W J McKell Cup is a 2000 metre quality handicap race run by the Australian Turf Club in June. It is held at Rosehill as the feature event of the meeting.

  • Race Type: Listed
  • Distance: 2000 metres
  • Conditions: Quality handicap, 3YO & upwards
  • Track: Rosehill Racecourse, Sydney, New South Wales
  • Prizemoney: $200,000
  • Date: Saturday 29 June 2024

W J McKell Cup Race History

See the 2024 W J McKell Cup Preview and results.

See the 2023 W J McKell Cup Preview and results.

See the 2022 W J McKell Cup Preview and results.

The race was first run in 1962 when it was run by a horse called Moviegoer ahead of Beau Tirage and Corsair. Beau Tirage was runner up in 1962, 1963 and 1964.

Held over 2400m at Randwick until 2019 then in 2020 was changed to 2000m at Rosehill.

Useful Facts

Last mare to win: Frankely Awesome (2020)

Fastest time (2000m): Frankely Awesome (2020) 2:05:94

Interesting trivia:

Past winners of the W J McKell Cup

Winners of past W J McKell Cups include horses that go on to win major spring races.

Year Winner Second Third
2024 Golden Path Touristic Lord Ardmore
2023 Zoumon Bold Mac Lord Ardmore
2022 Skyman Dr Drill Welsh Legend
2021 Stockman Berdibek Parry Sound
2020 Frankely Awesome Sixties Groove (IRE) Carzoff (FR)
2019 Hush Writer (JPN) High Bridge (GB) Girl Tuesday
2018 Destiny’s Kiss Naval Warfare Our Century (IRE)
2017 Allergic Broadside (NZ) Soviet Courage
2016 Ecuador (NZ) Iggi Pop (NZ) Havana Cooler
2015 Sense Of Occasion Singing Flame Our Voodoo Prince
2014 La Amistad Destiny’s Kiss Secessio (GB)
2013 Fiumicino (NZ) Motivado (GB) Vatuvei
2012 Adroitly Legsman (NZ) Reuben Percival
2011 Ironstein Sherpa Tenzing Skyerush
2010 Scouting Wide (NZ) Two Towers Bellagio Wynn
2009 Ready To Lift Music Review (GB) Lyncean Academy
2008 Luvuleo Twin Wing (NZ) Sky Biscuit
2007 Zavite (NZ) Newport Kincharm (NZ)
2006 Taken At The Flood Brave Lancer (NZ) Verb (NZ)
2005 Dancing Daggers Xlerate (NZ) Verb (NZ)
2004 Daralimara Hurry On Spec Silent Impact (NZ)
2003 Silent Impact Majestically (NZ) Via Sinai
2002 We’re Dancing Dance Director (NZ) Blazing Arch
2001 Touch The Groom Majestically (NZ) Recall (NZ)
2000 Ilze Dame Cath (NZ) Breakdance (NZ)
1999 Praise Indeed Zoquita Party Belle (NZ)
1998 Madjic Inshallah (NZ) Onanon (NZ)
1997 Jacanarchie Stony Bay (NZ) Angellen
1996 Prince Rupert Sam Mcguire (NZ) Doctor’s Orders
1995 Grand Connection Isinglass (NZ) Jovial Prince
1994 Double Take (NZ) Irish Rort Stockton Wood (NZ)
1993 De Lisle Red For Go (NZ) Senor Slick (NZ)
1992 Destiny Boy Anythings Possible Moods
1991 Royal Marine (NZ) Il Sorbo Webster’s Wish
1990 Tristeke (NZ) Moniuszko Macquarie Prince
1989 Miss Remus (NZ) Gerard The Beau (NZ)
1988 Natski (IRE) Galligaskins C’Est La Vie
1987 Kutzbah (NZ) Dominance Roznat
1986 String Of Pearls Social Cream Home Office (NZ)
1985 Linga Longa Brass Band Tric Gold (NZ)
1984 Hot Ally Peninsula Our Year (NZ)
1983 Must Be It Muezzin (NZ) Viva Bali
1982 My Sir Avon (NZ) Big Bickies (NZ) Bronze Lord
1981 Lord Folkestone Wotta Krakka (NZ) Sutimie (NZ)
1980 Granite King Gunner’s Mate Just Jealous
1979 Bi-Centennial (NZ) Boogie Woogie Our Ritual (NZ)
1978 Princess Clarendon Superzan Sovereign Heir
1977 Bilgola Boy Moogra-Ba Bombshell
1976 Spassky Sovereign Yacht Tudor Charger
1975 Black Tetra Navidad Air Voyager
1974 Moscow Broadway Hit Ponderosa
1973 Sunset Red Staid Little Gum Nut
1972 Hasty Heart (NZ) Fernando Cool Alibi
1971 Spillane Regal Rhythm Grey Moon
1970 Bluelough Rumoroso Indian Bronze
1969 Yagoona Boy Silent Reg Royal Display
1968 Pirate Bird Arc-En-Ciel Great Heart
1967  ** race not run **
1966 Trevors Man About Town Synfyl
1965 Saydor Carantes Striking Force
1964 Olympus Beau Tirage Mr. Iceman
1963 Brandy Queen Beau Tirage Odhner King
1962 Moviegoer Beau Tirage Corsair