Furphy Trophy Race Information

The Furphy Trophy is a 1000 metre set weights and penalties race for two-years-olds run by the Victoria Racing Club in late February or early March. It is held at Flemington as part of the Melbourne Autumn Racing Carnival.

  • Race Type: Listed
  • Distance: 1000 metres
  • Conditions: Set weights & penalties, 2YOs
  • Track: Flemington Racecourse, Melbourne, Victoria
  • Prizemoney: $175,000
  • Date: Saturday 2 March 2024

Furphy Trophy Race History

See the 2024 Furphy Trophy Preview and results.

See the 2023 Furphy Trophy/Festival Of Racing Preview and results.

The registered name of this race is the Flemington Festival of Racing Stakes.

Useful Facts

Last filly to win: Tycoon Humma (2021)

Fastest time (1000m): Excitable Boy (2013) 0:56:67

Interesting trivia:

Past winners of the Furphy Trophy

Winners of past Furphy Trophy/Very Special Kids Plates include some good sprinters.

Year Winner Second Third
2024 Bold Bastille Drifting Grinzinger Love
2023 Princess Duhallow Butch Cassidy Treasurway
2022 Millane Wee Nessy Sketched
2021 Tycoon Humma Kallos Wanaroo
2020 Ilovemyself River Night Time Is Precious
2019 Mockery Great Buy Cheer Leader
2018 Nomothaj Irukandji Virtual Insanity
2017 Ploverset Madeenaty Sam’s Image
2016 Selenia Alter Call Creativity
2015 Ready For Victory Heatherly Claudia Jean
2014 Bring Me The Maid Husson Eagle More Radiant
2013 Excitable Boy Mount Zero Sanosuke
2012 Fire Thunderbolt Mandla Imprimis
2011 Golden Archer Kid Kobe Fortune Of War
2010 Master Harry Curtana Noetic
2009 Common Interest Starspangledbanner Morfontaine
2008 Penny Banger Sidereus Silent But Deadly
2007 Rio Osa Downhill Racer Tis Folly
2006 Fun In Flight Senorita De Lago Bramble Blitz
2005 Tarzi Ferocity Latino
2004 Tahni Girl Ankaret Gallantree
2003 Fragmentation Road To Recovery Backhand
2002 Rohatyn Oronoko Gotrice
2001 North Boy Betula Archbishop
2000 Slipstream Toorak Thunder Blab