TTC Newmarket Handicap Race Information

The TTC Newmarket Handicap is a 1200 metre quality handicap race run by the Tasmanian Turf Club in late November or early December. It is held at Launceston as the feature event of the programme.

  • Race Type: Listed
  • Distance: 1200 metres
  • Conditions: Quality handicap, 3YO & upwards
  • Track: Launceston Racecourse, Launceston, Tasmania
  • Prizemoney: $150,000
  • Date: Wednesday 29 November 2023

Tasmanian Newmarket Handicap Race History

See the 2023 TTC Newmarket Handicap Preview and results

The race dates back to 1902 when it was won by a horse named Inchman.

A popular lead-up race is the Hobart Goodwood Handicap over 1100m run on Melbourne Cup Day about three weeks earlier.

Useful Facts

Last mare to win: Black ‘N’ Tough (2013)

Multiple winners: I’m Wesley (2017, 2018 & 2019); Hellova Street (2014 & 2015); Royal Rambo (1998 & 2000); Private Enterprise (1970 & 1971); Majestic Master (1967 & 1968); Royal Barb (1935 & 1936); Seignorina (1923 & 1925); Silver Lake (1916 & 1917); Hatteras (1904 & 1905).

Fastest time (1200m): I’m Wesley (2001) 1:08:94

Interesting trivia: I’m Wesley is the only horse to win the race three times. The race was not held in 1957. In 1931 there was a dead heat for the win between Silversol and Darpuna and in 1914 there was a dead heat between Chiron’s Faith and Silver Claim.

Past winners of the TTC Newmarket Handicap

Winners of past Launceston Newmarket Handicaps include some top Tasmanian sprinters.

Year Winner Second Third
2023 First Accused Jaja Chaboogie Jaguar Stone
2022 The Inevitable First Accused Alpine Wolf
2021 Deroche I’m Wesley First Accused
2020 Gee Gee Secondover Mandela Effect Street Tough
2019 I’m Wesley Twitchy Frank Hellova Street
2018 I’m Wesley Gee Gee Lanett Scrutineer
2017 I’m Wesley Lord Da Vinci Gee Gee Red Prince
2016 Tshahitsi Gee Gee Red Prince Admiral
2015 Hellova Street Erin’s Elemant Geegees Doublejay
2014 Hellova Street Royal Rapture Isibaeva
2013 Black ‘N’ Tough Bocuse The Cleaner
2012 It’s Crunch Time Dream Flyer Punctuate
2011 Geegees Blackflash Socks Punctuate
2010 Obstinado Gold In Dubai Lyell
2009 Life To The Full Miewa’s Quest With Decorum
2008 Scenic Silver Wealthy Lad Greenmount Belle
2007 Oceano Colonel Parker Browneyed Boy
2006 Phantomoftheknight Riceman Petite Oiseau
2005 Nuclear Free Lord Danzero Taxi Tom
2004 Riceman Chardere Jay Kay Bee
2003 Dragila Red Dragon Birle’s Gamble
2002 Viscount Alexander Red Dragon Fanta’s Revenge
2001 Chardere Can’t Say Vetyvere
2000 Royal Rambo Noble Sensation Viscount Alexander
1999 O’Donnell Fyndarn Ali Video Kid
1998 Royal Rambo Prince Brodie All Mighty Prince
1997 Cool ‘N’ Black Glenmark Boy All Mighty Prince
1996 Magic Sword Mecki Golden Serpent
1995 Don Bellotto Cool ‘N’ Black Don Zao
1994 Poacher’s Star Courtly Way Devon Earl
1993 Well Timed Devon Earl Currently
1992 Party Game Alcidon Group Decision
1991 Dedicated Well Timed