Takeover Target Stakes Race Information

The Takeover Target Stakes is a 1200 metre quality handicap race run by the Gosford Race Club in May. It is held at Gosford as a feature event of the meeting on The Coast Race day.

  • Race Type: Listed
  • Distance: 1200 metres
  • Conditions: Quality handicap, 3YO & upwards
  • Track: Gosford Racecourse, West Gosford, New South Wales
  • Prizemoney: $250,000
  • Date: Saturday 11 May 2024

Takeover Target Stakes Race History

See the 2024 Takeover Target Stakes Preview and results.

See the 2023 Takeover Target Stakes Preview and results.

See the 2022 Takeover Target Stakes Preview and results.

Coming soon.

Useful Facts

Last mare to win: Enchanted Heart (2021)

Last 3YO to win: C&G – Stormcat Academy (2002); Filly – ?

Fastest time (1200m): Tactical Advantage (2019) 1:08:86

Interesting trivia: Held at Randwick in 2020.

Past winners of the Takeover Target Stakes

Winners of past Gosford Gold Cups include some good sprinters.

Year Winner Second Third
2024 Semillion Tashi Astero
2023 Think About It Bacchanalia Fox Fighter
2022 Blondeau Gospodin Majestic Shot
2021 Enchanted Heart Snitz Easy Eddie
2020 Snitz Greyworm Redouble
2019 Tactical Advanatage Easy Eddie Isaurian
2018 Calanda Supreme Effort Oxford Poet
2017 Kuro His Majesty Ball Of Muscle
2016 Howmuchdoyouloveme Slots Rule The River
2015 Ball Of Muscle That’s A Good Idea Territory
2014 Emblems Dances On Stars My Destiny
2013 Testarhythm Soledad Uate
2012 See The World Beyond Pardon Sutton Queen
2011 Title Jest Crewsin’ Motspur
2010 Border Rebel Youthful Jack My Vegas
2009 Strat’s Flyer Kroner Spirilina
2008 Captain Bax Mister Celestial Newton’s Rings
2007 Newton’s Rings Hairy Sir Covet
2006 Mac’s Tune Vionneto Silk And Money
2005 Langborghini Bold Matador Turaga
2004 Takeover Target Mustard Red Oog
2003 Britt’s Best Marwin Gold Libidinious
2002 Stormcat Academy Ancient Song Bulletproof Billy
2001 Tyr Silver Castle Juggling Time
2000 High Rolling So Precise King Lotto