Sky High Stakes Race Information

The Sky High Stakes is a 2000 metre set weights plus penalties race run by the Australian Turf Club in March. It is held at Rosehill as part of the Sydney Autumn Racing Carnival.

  • Race Type: Group 3
  • Distance: 2000 metres
  • Conditions: Set weights plus penalties, 3YO & upwards
  • Track: Rosehill Racecourse, Sydney, New South Wales
  • Prizemoney: $350,000
  • Date: Saturday 16 March 2024

Sky High Stakes Race History

See the 2024 Sky High Stakes Preview and results.

See the 2023 Sky High Stakes Preview and results.

See the 2022 Sky High Stakes Preview and results.

Coming soon

In 2015 the distance was increased from 1900m to 2000m, and in 2016 the race was changed from a Quality handicap to a Set Weights plus Penalties race.

Useful Facts

Last mare to win: Toffee Tongue (2021)

Fastest time (2000m): Hartnell (2015) 2:02:60

Interesting trivia: Zabeel is the sire of 2007 winner Coalesce, 2005 winner Seul Amour and 2003 winner National Treasure. He is also the grandsire of 2021 winner Toffee Tongue.

Past winners of the Sky High Stakes

Winners of past Sky High Stakes include Hartnell.

Year Winner Second Third
2024 Lindermann Kalapour Stockman
2023 Protaganist Zeyrek Sunshine Rising
2022 Stockman Mount Popa Great House
2021 Toffee Tongue Spirit Ridge Mirage Dancer
2020 Master Of Wine Mustajeer Carif
2019 Red Cardinal Rodrico Goathland
2018 Auvray Libran Mackintosh
2017 Tavago Antonio Giuseppe Allergic
2016 Sir John Hawkwood Messene Who Shot Thebarman
2015 Hartnell Opinion Hawkspur
2014 Entirely Platinum Midsummer Sun Desert Jeuney
2013 Julienas Lunayir Le Roi
2012 Single Southern Skye Flumicino
2011 Older Than Time Luen Yat Forever Syreon
2010 Bellagio Wynn Hadaaf Cousin Wal
2009 Kettledrum Brave Lancer Twin Wing
2008 Nuclear Sky Musket Bundoran Breeze
2007 Coalesce Grand Zulu Prince Of Midnight
2006 County Tyrone No Wine No Song October Son
2005 Seul Amour Sunday Service Havana Wind
2004 Daniel’s The Man County Tyrone Striking Victory
2003 National Treasure Natural Blitz County Tyrone
2002 Restless Grampians Spirit Of Westbury
2001 Bello Signor The Druidess Cheverny
2000 Spysept Bombast Yippyio
1999 For The Moment Royal Voyage Steel Phoenix
1998 Joss Sticks Banner Headline Back In The Saddle
1997 Buzzoff Nassirich Purse
1996 Darbaas Ripper Drogheda
1995 Balmeressa Red Eagle Sky Watch
1994 Cross Swords Potential Star Maraakiz
1993 Upwards Gifted Poet Takeshi
1992 Native Neptune Creme Anglaise Moods
1991 String Quartet Luddenham Red Chiffon
1990 Galligaskins Irish Clipper Mountain Kingdom
1989 Eye Of The Sky Any Body Home Noble Clubs