Seymour Cup Race Information

The Seymour Cup is a 1600 metre open handicap race run by the Seymour Racing Club on a Sunday in October. It is held at Seymour as part of the Spring Racing Carnival.

  • Race Type: Listed
  • Distance: 1600 metres
  • Conditions: Open handicap
  • Track: Bendigo Racecourse, Seymour, Victoria
  • Prizemoney: $200,000
  • Date: Sunday 22 October 2023

Seymour Cup Race History

See the 2023 Seymour Cup Preview and results.

The race was first held in 1949 when it was won by a horse called Dumfries. It was held over 2000m from 1969 to 1975 then over 2200m from 1976 to 1983 and was reduced to the current 1600m in 1984. It became a Listed race in 1991.

In 2020 the race was moved to Kilmore racecourse as the track needed additional time to consolidate following work. The 2019 Kilmore Cup was hosted at Seymour so the Clubs clearly work well together. Normally held the day after the Caulfield Cup, in 2021 it was moved to the week earlier to create a two week gap before the Sale Cup (1600m) and was held at Ballarat as the Seymour track underwent further renovation. In 2022 it was held at Bendigo and returned to Seymour in 2023.

Useful Facts

Multiple winners: None yet

Fastest time (1600m): Dane River (2002) 1:34:38

Interesting trivia: The 2020 race was transferred to Kilmore as the track needed work. The 2018 race was not run as the track was unfit for racing.

Past winners of the Seymour Cup

Winners of past Seymour Cups include Mr Brightside (2021), Toil (1995), State Taj (1993), Zaparri (1990), Dealer’s Luck (1981), Arwon (1978), Red Hope (1973), Gaybao (1960) and Better Boy (1955)

Year Winner Second Third
2023 Junipal Chandon Burj Ascension
2022 Noname Lane Just Folk Hi Stranger
2021 Mr Brightside Wicklow Town Milton Park
2020 All Too Huiying Gold Fields Romancer
2019 Admiral’s Joker A Shin Rook Chapada
2018 ** Race not held **
2017 Balf’s Choice Radipole Moss’n’Dale
2016 ** Race not held **
2015 Turn Me Loose Scream Machine Garud
2014 Bel Thor Our Hand Of Faith Another Prelate
2013 Sysmo Proverb Lord Wimble
2012 Callanish Over Quota Tribal Rock
2011 Tiakinui Smoulder La Rocket
2010 Our Lukas Conquering Red Colossus
2009 Mandela Pillar Of Hercules Excelltastic
2008 Aztec Smytzer God’s Hand Dorabella
2007 Correct Amoondo You Sexy Boy Tears I Cry
2006 Thin And Crispy Hidden Strings Lifes A Bounty
2005 Lifes A Bounty Stamen Requisite
2004 Stamen Mooball Fonome
2003 Storm Attack Burglar Tooborack
2002 Dane River Brittish Buska Gunnamatta
2001 Elkabayo Aquiver Prince Benbara
2000 Panoramic Lad Gold Boom Vetyvere
1999 Typhoon Barney Stormy Jim HonourableMention
1998 Final Teppo Party Prince Siri Nelg
1997 Shistaad Video Fan Reeperbahn
1996 Video Fan McGuane Confirmed Bachelor