Oakbank Stakes Race Information

The Oakbank Stakes is an 1100 metre quality handicap race run by the Oakbank Racing Club in March or April. It is held at Oakbank as part of the Easter Racing Carnival.

  • Race Type: Listed
  • Distance: 1100 metres
  • Conditions: Quality handicap
  • Track: Oakbank Racecourse, Adelaide Hills, South Australia
  • Prizemoney: $140,000
  • Date: Saturday 30 March 2024

Oakbank Stakes Race History

See the 2024 Hills Railway Stakes Preview and results.

See the 2023 Hills Railway Stakes Preview and results.

See the 2022 Hills Railway Stakes Preview and results.

The registered name of the race is the Hills Railway Stakes which was established in 1877. It has also been known as the Clipsal Stakes. It has been a Listed race for over twenty years.

Useful Facts

Last mare to win: All Banter (2022)

Multiple winners: Riziz (2013 & 2017).

Fastest time (1100m): Libidinious (2002) 1:03:39

Interesting trivia: In 2020 COVID made it impossible to have spectators at the Easter Oakbank carnival and the race was held over 1000m at Morphettville Parks.

Past winners of the Oakbank Stakes

Winners of past Oakbank Stakes include horses that go on to win South Australian sprint races.

Year Winner Second Third
2024 Celsius Star Lonrodex Direct
2023 Taunting Gaze Grise Rich Gina
2022 All Banter Gaze Grise
Larimer Street
* dead heat 2nd
2021 Street Life Elderflower Golden Halo
2020 Bella Vella Kabini Equal Love
2019 Despatch Zalmona Crown Fontein
2018 Heart Of  A Lion Nipperkin Riziz
2017 Riziz Tarco Bay Road
2016 Scratchy Lass Tarco Husson Eagle
2015 Streetcar Isabelle Riziz Rifleman
2014 Siwa Lady Whitlam Justify That
2013 Riziz Avoid Lightning Dee Bee Nine
2012 Basil Da Man Periduki North Beach
2011 Cornelia Marie Play Just For Me Arinos
2010 Very Discreet All Star Idalou
2009 Tramuntana The Chunkster Goondi
2008 The Chunkster Letmeentertainyou Zipanese
2007 Allstar Zipanese El Maze
2006 Oahu Sassbee Identifiable
2005 El Maze Tao’s Pleasure Starhere
2004 Maybe McLaren Chest Of Gold Identifiable
2003 Zedimbi Identifiable Lowendale Road
2002 Libidinious Bush Outlaw Flurry’s Gem
2001 Point Danger Lazing About Comedy Court
2000 Flight Pattern Price Of Love Aragon Prince
1999 Charleston Gold Razamataz Born Brave
1998 Pride Of Tarlton Palace Lord Minegold
1997 Yarli Gold The Heavyweight He’s Wringing Wet
1996 Brinkman’s Image Dowd’s Kali Barter Knight
1995 Bar Flyer Sunforth Shanty Creek
1994 Ambala Bar Flyer Manduke
1993 Gently Bently Colebrook
1992 Bar Flyer
1991 Barcurra Fear Filou
1990 Worthy Regent
1989 Storm Wedge