Merson Cooper Stakes Race Information

The Merson Cooper Stakes is a 1000 metre set weights race for two-year-olds run by the Melbourne Racing Club in November. It is held at Caulfield on Zipping Classic day.

  • Race Type: Listed
  • Distance: 1000 metres
  • Conditions: Set weights, 2YOs
  • Track: Caulfield Racecourse, Melbourne, Victoria
  • Prizemoney: $175,000
  • Date: Saturday 2 December 2023

Merson Cooper Stakes Race History

See the 2022 Merson Cooper Stakes Preview and results.

Coming soon.

Useful Facts

Last filly to win: Ebhaar (2021)

Fastest time (1000m): British Lion (2001) 0:55:58

Interesting trivia:

Past winners of the Merson Cooper Stakes

Winners of past Merson Cooper Stakes include some horses who go on to be good sprinters.

Year Winner Second Third
2023 Eneza Flattered Express Yo’self
2022 Little Brose Cylinder Gangitano
2021 Ebhaar Boldinho Moko
2020 Anamoe Forbes The Art Of Flying
2019 Hanseatic Dubai Star River Night
2018 Steal My Kisses Memphis Rock First Dawn
2017 Long Leaf Oohood Sanglier
2016 Arctic Angel Mikuni Zarpoya
2015 Jackson Soviet Secret Emphatically
2014 Thurlow Miss Gidget Mesa
2013 Golconda All Sewn Up Heavy
2012 Bulbula Purrific Sidestep
2011 Maximus Moonard Timely Truce Andre Roo Hoo
2010 Dinner Date Metonymy Danish Shadow
2009 Secession Shaaheq Sublime Girl
2008 Corsaire Take The Rap I’m A Smarty Pants
2007 Marveen Tzarina Kalash
2006 Press The Button Meurice Gamble Me
2005 Red Pluton Montfort Kadena Lane
2004 Freestyle Simply Rossa Owzat
2003 Lunaspur The General Coraticum
2002 Miss Terrain Poliphili Cross Current
2001 British Lion Chassis Blur
2000 Obadele Magnaforce Graphite Lass
1999 Happy Giggle Able Kane Veteran
1998 Real Jester Trousers Cross
1997 Rosa’s Joy Minimal Typhoon
1996 Canon Song Absurd Manhattan Von
1995 Caelebs Bialia Santorini Sand
1994 Shaded Tennessee Magic More Luskin