Kalgoorlie Cup Race Information

The Kalgoorlie Cup is a 2300 metre set weights plus penalties race run by the Kalgoorlie Boulder Racing Club in early October It is held at Kalgoorlie as the feature race of the meeting

  • Race Type: Listed
  • Distance: 2300 metres
  • Conditions: Quality handicap, 3YO & upwards
  • Track: Kalgoorlie Racecourse, Kalgoorlie, Western Australia
  • Prizemoney: $150,000
  • Date: Saturday 7 October 2023

Kalgoorlie Cup Race History

See the 2023 Kalgoorlie Cup Preview and results

See the 2022 Kalgoorlie Cup Preview and results

See the 2021 Kalgoorlie Cup Preview and results

The first Kalgoorlie Cup was run on 4 March 1897. It was run twice in the inaugural year and was won by Paul Pry on both occasions. The 1905 Melbourne Cup winner Blue Spec was a Kalgoorlie horse who won the Kalgoorlie Cup in 1904.

Unlike many races the Cup ran uninterrupted through both world wars.

In 2019 the distance was reduced from 2300m to 2200m and in 2023 in returned to 2300m.

Useful Facts

Last mare to win; Shinta Mani (2017)

Interesting trivia: The Cup was held twice in 1897.

Past winners of the Kalgoorlie Cup

Winners of past Kalgoorlie Cups include horses that go on to win major spring races.

Year Winner Second Third
2023 Be Optimistic Recalled Powerful
2022 Stafford’s Lad No Apology Native Chimes
2021 Living The Dream Stafford’s Lad Sugar Cain
2020 Missile Launch Divine Shadow Friar Fox
2019 Spiritual Warrior First Affair Ihtsahymn
2018 Inject The Venom Gloryland First Affair
2017 Shinta Mani Danehills Daughter Dark Alert
2016 Cougar Express Falcon Crest Kronfeld
2015 Woodsville Mystic Prince Black Moment
2014 True Gold Friarday Ram Jam
2013 Classique Ivory Starlight Lady Imperial Command
2012 Lopov Double Barrel Test The Angels
2011 Kincaple Battle Emblem Kasabian
2010 Sunrange Telexden Guyno
2009 Gondorff Zubizaretta Neige
2008 Action Pak Goldtown Impact Rating
2007 Master Vision Action Plan Hail Mary
2006 Black Tom Main Stage Master Vision
2005 Priceless Matt Master Vision Mercedario
2004 Violent Wind Quasarock Blevvo
2003 Cazariffic Kiwi Hombre Priceless Matt
2002 Lawmaker Noon Great Fingall
2001 Opening Twist Never Blue Tumeric
2000 Lottila Bay Never Blue Master Clan
1999 Proconteur Cororate Street Mt Henry
1998 Sugarstone Brooklyn Bridge Lottila Bay
1997 Corporate James Coachwood Bronte Story