JRA Cup Race Information

The JRA Cup is a 2040 metre handicap race run by the Moonee Valley Racing Club in September. It is held at Moonee Valley at the Friday night Moir Stakes meeting.

  • Race Type: Group 3
  • Distance: 2040 metres
  • Conditions: Quality handicap
  • Track: Moonee Valley Racecourse, Melbourne, Victoria
  • Prizemoney: $200,000
  • Date: Friday 25 September 2020

JRA Cup  Race History

See the 2020 JRA Cup Preview and Results

The JRA Cup was originally called the Geoff Madden Handicap when it was an unlisted race prior to 1996 before it became the Japan Racing Association (JRA) Cup. From 1996 to 2009 it was a Listed race and from 2010 onwards it has been a Group 3 race.

Useful Facts

Last mare to win; Real Love (2016)

Multiple winners: None since 1996.

Fastest time (2040m): Precedence (2010) 2:05.31

Interesting trivia:

Past winners of the JRA Cup

Winners of past JRA Cup include The Taj Mahal (2018), Jon Snow (2017), Real Love (2016), The Cleaner (2014), Mourinho (2013), Precedence (2010), Alcopop (2009), Maldivian (2007), El Segundo (2005), Rain Gauge (2001) and Brave Chief (1999).

Year Winner Second Third
2020 Al Galayel Plein Ciel Levendi
2019 Captain Cook Sully Mosh Music
2018 The Taj Mahal Gallic Chieftain Sir Isaac Newton
2017 Jon Snow Ecuador Boom Time
2016 Real Love Maurus Tarquin
2015 Escado Magnapal Velox
2014 The Cleaner Sangster Mourinho
2013 Mourinho Gris Caro The Great Snowman
2012 Bianmick Dance With Her Ironstein
2011 Dream Pedlar Carnero Domesky
2010 Precedence Rainbow Styling Linton
2009 Alcopop Field Hunter Shocking
2008 Cefalu Majestical Devil Moon
2007 Maldivian Pacino Master O’Reilly
2006 Pavlova Spinney Delvecchio
2005 El Segundo Show Barry Umbalo
2004 Beswinging Evil Master Badger’s Wood
2003 General Booth Flying Chance Atin
2002 Cheverny Kabila Forest Jim
2001 Rain Gauge Rum Perliffic
2000 Prince Benbara Oxford Dollar Rebbor
1999 Brave Chief Oliver Twist Waajib Star
1998 Il Don
1997 Sunny Lane
1996 Section