John Dillon Stakes Race Information

The John Dillon Stakes is a 1400 metre open handicap race run by the Melbourne Racing Club in late January. It is held at Caulfield as one of the feature races of the meeting.

  • Race Type: Listed
  • Distance: 1400 metres
  • Conditions: Quality handicap
  • Track: Caulfield Racecourse, Melbourne, Victoria
  • Prizemoney: $175,000
  • Date: Friday 26 January 2024

John Dillon Stakes Race History

See the 2024 John Dillon Stakes Preview and Results.

See the 2022 John Dillon Stakes Preview and Results.

The race dates back to 1984 when it was called the VATC Barton Handicap over 1000m and won by a horse called Centaine. In 1992 the distance was increased to the current 1400m. It was called the MRC Barton Stakes until it became the John Dillon Stakes in 2009.

Useful Facts

Last mare to win: Southern Speed (2012)

Fastest time (1400m): Mister Obliging (2001) 1:21:70

Interesting trivia:

Past winners of the John Dillon Stakes

Winners of past John Dillon Stakes include horses that go on to win Group races.

Year Winner Second Third
2024 Ayrton Ka Bling Buffalo River
2023 Gentleman Roy Dawn Passage Crosshaven
2022 Open Minded Lighthouse Excelida
2021 Blazejowski Brave Song Viral
2020 Morvada Yulong January Streets Of Avalon
2019 Rock ‘N’ Gold Manolo Blahniq Chamois Road
2018 Tshahitsi Dollar For Dollar Wyndspelle
2017 Grande Rosso Tonopah Duke Of Brunswick
2016 Mighty Like Tried And Tired Baligari
2015 Reparations Decircles Tried And Tired
2014 Finishing Card Limes Chase The Rainbow
2013 Le Remas Under The Eiffel Future Solution
2012 Southern Speed Shout Out Loud Danzylum
2011 Danzylum Wind Shear It’s Prince
2010 Joku Danzylum Zarita
2009 Time Matters Sand Sweeper Just Look
2008 Cargo Cult Larson Stickpin
2007 Sonic Quest Our Spur Recapitalize
2006 Forest Spy Mock Step Ahead
2005 Youth Lord Volksraad Grundy’s Crossing
2004 Tycoon Ruler Monahan Tweed Domine
2003 Panorama Heights British Buska Mr Casanova
2002 Tears Royal Corvain Accuse
2001 Mister Obliging Shorblue Slalom
2000 Jugahtrice Ekalaka Czar Hero