Inglis Sprint Race Information

The Inglis Sprint is a 1200 metre set weights plus penalties race for three-year-olds run by the Victoria Racing Club in late February or early March. It is held at Flemington as part of the Melbourne Autumn Racing Carnival.

  • Race Type: Feature
  • Distance: 1200 metres
  • Conditions: Set weights plus penalties, 3YOs
  • Track: Flemington Racecourse, Melbourne, Victoria
  • Prizemoney: $1,000,000
  • Date: Saturday 2 March 2024

Inglis Sprint Race History

See the 2024 Inglis Sprint Preview and results.

The race was first held in 2015 and is restricted to 3YO horses nominated to the Inglis Race Series that have been bought through approved sales conducted by Inglis Sales.

In 2015 it was held in December over 1100m at Randwick. After the first two years the timing was moved to February (which means it was not held in 2017) and the 2018 and 2019 races were held over 1100m at Warwick Farm. In 2020 the distance was extended to 1200m and it was run on a heavy rack at Warwick Faerm. In 2021 it returned to Randwick (over 1200m) then it was moved to Melbourne in 2022 where it is held at Flemington on Australian Guineas day. In it’s short history it has showcased some quality horses.

In 2022 it was won by Overpass who started as a short-priced favourite after previously winning the Group 2 Expressway Stakes and defeating Group 1 winners Forbidden Love and Anamoe. He then went on to become a Group 1 winner in the 2023 Group 1 Winterbottom Stakes at Ascot, following his win at Ascot eight months earlier in the $4 million Quokka.

In 2023 it was won by Benedetta who started as favourite and bolted in by three lengths at her fifth career start, defeating Group 2 winner Paris Dior. She went on to win At Group 3 level and finished  a close third in the Group 2 Bobbie Lewis Quality at Flemington.

Inglis Sprint Facts

Last filly to win: Estriella (2024)

Fastest time (1200m): Benedetta (2023) 1:09:24

Interesting trivia: 2023 winner Benedetta was sired by Hellbent who was runner-up in this race in 2015.

Past winners of the Inglis Sprint

Winners of past Inglis Sprint include some of the best horses in Australian racing.

Year Winner Second Third
Mar 2024 Estriella Robrick Caballus
Mar 2023 Benedetta Paris Dior Insurrection
Mar 2022 Overpass Spellcatcher The Art Of Flying
Feb 2021 Rocketing By Prime Star Ole Kirk
Feb 2020 Rubisaki Rari Larimer Street
Feb 2019 Fiesta Estijaab Mizzy
Feb 2018 She Will Reign Acqume Limbo Soul
2017   * Race not run **
Dec 2016 Calanda Geneteau Manuel
Dec 2015 Lady Sniper Hellbent Stoker