Inglis Banner Race Information

The Inglis Banner is a 1000 metre set weights race for two-year-olds run by the Moonee Valley Racing Club in October. It is held at Moonee Valley as part of the Melbourne Spring Racing Carnival.

  • Race Type: Restricted Listed
  • Distance: 1000 metres
  • Conditions: Set weights, 2YOs
  • Track: Moonee Valley Racecourse, Melbourne, Victoria
  • Prizemoney: $500,000
  • Date: Saturday 28 October 2023

Inglis Banner Race History

See the 2023 Inglis Banner Preview and results.

See the 2022 Inglis Banner Preview and results.

The race was first held in 2008 as the Inglis Juvenile and was won by Starspangled baner trained by Leon Corstens. The race was subsequently renamed the ‘Inglis Banner’ in honour of the inaugural winner. Starspangled banner was sired by Choisir who later sired the 2011 winner Diamond Earth and the 2017 winner Setsuna.

The race is restricted to 2YO horses nominated to the Inglis Race Series for all eligible horses which have been offered for sale through the ring or online at any eligible Inglis Select horse Sales. It is also part of the Inglis Triple Crown.

Useful Facts

Last filly to win: Sneaky Five (2020)

Fastest time (1000m): Setsuna (2017) 0:58:99

Leading trainer: Gai Waterhouse & Adrian Bott with two wins (Espaniyah 2018, Setsuna 2017)

Interesting trivia: Three of the winners have been sired by Choisir (Setsuna 2017, Diamond Earth 2011, Starspangledbanner 2008).

Past winners of the Inglis Banner

Winners of past Inglis Banners include horses that go on to win major spring races.

Year Winner Second Third
2023 Bold Bastille Hayasugi Chosen Legend
2022 Arkansaw Kid Mexico Optume
2021 Semillion Lady Harlem Nobel
2020 Sneaky Five The Art Of Flying Tempest Charm
2019 Ideas Man Bella Nipotina Arctic Ice
2018 Espaniyaah Biscara Salome
2017 Setsuna Bionics Grand Challenge
2016 Azazel Can’t Remember Ephesian
2015 Dalradian Valliano Pearl Congenial
2014 Fontiton Hot Snippety Braccenby
2013 Silversands Donelle Cornrow
2012 Crack A Roadie Diva Dee Shamus Award
2011 Diamond Earth Lamingtons Swipeline
2010 Elite Falls Masthead Manor Lady
2009 Marmaa Devils Melody Jill’s Angel
2008 Starspangledbanner No Comment Bawaardi