Hill Stakes Race Information

The Hill Stakes is an 2000 metre weight for age race run by the Australian Turf Club held in late September or early October. It is run at Rosehill as part of the Sydney Spring Racing Carnival.

  • Race Type: Group 2
  • Distance: 2000 metres
  • Conditions: Weight for age, 3YO & upwards
  • Track: Rosehill Racecourse, Sydney, New South Wales
  • Prizemoney: $2,000,000
  • Date: Saturday 7 October 2023

Hill Stakes Race History

See the 2023 Hill Stakes Preview and results.

See the 2022 Hill Stakes Preview and results.

The race was run for the 100th time in 2021 and Racing NSW announced that it be commemorated with prizemoney of $1 million (up from $500,000 in 2020)in order to attract some of the best middle-distance horses in Australasia. In 2023 prizemoney was boosted to $2 million and the Hill Stakes returned to its traditional Rosehill home for the first time since 2011

Coming soon.

Hill Stakes Facts

Last mare to win; Verry Elleegant (2019)

Last 3YO to win: C&G Arena (1998); Filly – no filly has won

Multiple winners: Desert War (2005 & 2006); Toi Port (1963 & 1964); Redcraze (1956 & 1957); Hydrogen (1952 & 1953); Yaralla (1942 & 1943); Gold Rod (1939 & 1940); Peter Pan (1932 & 1935); Chatham (1933 & 1934); Phar Lap (1930 & 1931); Limerick (1927 & 1928); The Hawk (1923 & 1925).

Fastest time (2000m): Ace High (2018) 2:02:57

Interesting trivia: Imposing won in 1979 and is the sire of 1991 winner Super Impose.

Past winners of the Hill Stakes

Winners of past Hill Stakes often head to the Melbourne Spring Racing Carnival.

Year Winner Second Third
2023 Montefilia Hoo Ya Mal Protagonist
2022 Cascadian Numerian Montefilia
2021 Think It Over Shared Ambition Cepheus
2020 Kolding Avilius Fierce Impact
2019 Verry Elleegant Samadoubt Life Less Ordinary
2018 Ace High It’s Somewhat Egg Tart
2017 Classic Uniform Embley Mackintosh
2016 Hartnell Who Shot Thebarman Storm The Stars
2015 Preferment Magic Hurricane Complacent
2014 Junoob Criterion Bagman
2013 Moriarty Glencadam Gold Masked Marvel
2012 Lamasery Mourayan Lights Of Heaven
2011 Trusting Hawk Island Tullamore
2010 Descarado Triple Honour Purple
2009 Miss Marielle Pacino Roman Emperor
2008 Fiumicino Dealer Principal Hurrah
2007  ** Race not run **
2006 Desert War Eremein Grand Zulu
2005 Desert War Portland Singa Dizelle
2004 Natural Blitz Vouvray Just Polite
2003 Excellerator Platinum Scissors Carnegie Express
2002 Dress Circle Bedouin Republic Lass
2001 Mulan Princess Altiero Dottoressa
2000 Pasta Express Pravda Padfoot Charlie
1999 Tie The Knot Joss Sticks Melora
1998 Arena Yippyio Super Slew
1997 Ebony Grosve Alfa Sharscay
1996 Saintly Nothin’ Leica Dane Donar
1995 Stony Bay Flying Spur Joie Denise
1994 Slight Chance Simulcast Irish Rort
1993 Silk Ali Durbridge Kingston Bay
1992 Muirfield Village Super Impose Better Loosen Up
1991 Super Impose Just A Dancer Stargazer
1990 Eastern Classic Stargazer Right Missile
1989 Riverina Charm Zamoff Young Carbinier
1988 Natural Habit Balciano Lord Hybrow
1987 Beau Zam Cool Deal Colour Page
1986 Colour Page Pharostan Gallery Level
1985 Greatness Drawn Bounty Hawk
1984 Trissaro Hayai Bounty Hawk
1983 Emancipation Been There Veloso
1982 Cossack Prince Kingston Town Rare Form
1981 Canarthus Gold Circle Belmura Lad
1980 Silver Wraith Diamond Park Warmington
1979 Imposing Prince Ruling Gypsy Kingdom
1978 Marceau Valadero Ming Dynasty
1977 Carlaw Leonotis Battle Heights
1976 Ngawyni Tiger Town Elton
1975 Skyjack Leica Show Yo Tambien
1974 Leica Lover Passetruel Battle Heights
1973 Grand Cidium Longfella Americano
1972 Gunsynd Triton Gold Brick
1971 Baguette Classic Mission Rajah Sahib
1970 Flagrante Spillane Bermudez
1969 Black Onyx Foresight Alrello
1968 Eternal Youth Roman Consul Shakedown
1967 Winfreux Dark Purple Gay Gauntlet
1966 Prince Grant Prince Max Aveniam
1965 Eskimo Prince Le Filou Strauss
1964 Toi Port Eskimo Prince Silver Bore
1963 Toi Port Sky High Wenona Girl
1962 Sky High Lord Fury Refulgent
1961 Lord Fury Waipari Sometime
1960 Waipari Grecian Vale Second Earl
1959 Noholme Irish Folly Book Link
1958 Skyline Prince Darius Young Idealist
1957 Redcraze Timor Young Idealist
1956 Redcraze Somerset Fair Empire Link
1955 Somerset Fair Kingster Prince Cortauld
1954 Prince Cortauld Sir Pilot Tarien
1953 Hydrogen Tarien Friendly Feeling
1952 Hydrogen Suncup Grey Boots
1951 San Domenico Memory Inn Achilles
1950 Playboy Penvolo Sir Falcon
1949 Vagabond Achilles Dickens
1948 Dark Marne Karachi Proctor
1947 Columnist Puffham Sweet Chime
1946 Bernborough Flight Prince Consort
1945 Shannon Cold Shower Accession
1944 Mayfowl Katanga Victory Lad
1943 Yaralla Rimveil Katanga
1942 Yaralla Evergreen Gold Salute
1941 High Caste Pandect Reading
1940 Beau Vite High Caste Buzalong
1939 Gold Rod Royal Chief St. Constant
1938 Gold Rod Young Idea Stretto
1937 Talking Avenger Lough Neagh
1936 Silver Ring Lough Neagh Sarcherie
1935 Peter Pan Young Idea Lough Neagh
1934 Chatham Closing Time Nightly
1933 Chatham Kuvera Lough Neagh
1932 Peter Pan Nightmarch Johnnie Jason
1931 Phar Lap Chide Waugoola
1930 Phar Lap Nightmarch High Disdain
1929 Winalot Mollison Nightmarch
1928 Limerick Prince Humphrey Greenline
1927 Limerick Gothic Amounis
1926 Valicare The Hawk Spearfelt
1925 The Hawk Manfred Admetus
1924 Ballymena Gloaming The Hawk
1923 The Hawk Beauford Rahiri
1922 Gloaming Beauford Soorak
1921 Beauford Violoncello Popaway