Gold Sovereign Stakes Race Information

The Gold Sovereign Stakes is a 1200 metre set weights race for two-year-olds run by the Tasmanian Turf Club in February. It is held at Launceston as part of the Tasmanian Summer Racing Carnival.

  • Race Type: Listed
  • Distance: 1200 metres
  • Conditions: Set weights, 2YOs
  • Track: Launceston Racecourse, Mowbray, Tasmania
  • Prizemoney: $150,000
  • Date: Sunday 25 February 2024

Gold Sovereign Stakes Race History

See the 2024 Gold Sovereign Stakes Preview and results.

See the 2023 Gold Sovereign Stakes Preview and results.

The race dates back to at least 1983 when it was won by a two-year-old called Odation.

Youngsters may come via the Elwick Stakes at Hobart and some runners may be unraced.

Useful Facts

Last filly to win: Geegees Mistruth (2024)

Fastest time (1200m): Rock The Moment (2009) 1:10:81

Interesting trivia:

Past winners of the Gold Sovereign Stakes

Winners of past Gold Sovereign Stakes include horses that go on to win major autumn races.

Year Winner Second Third
2024 Geegees Mistruth Flattered Zoete’s Rock
2023 The Spirit Of Zero Needs Sugar Cairns
2022 Bello Beau Piink Beauty Jaguar Stone
2021 Turk Warrior Outbound Miss Tuppence
2020 Jyoti Gee Gee Josie Avenue Of Pleasure
2019 Mystical Pursuit Deroche Chase On The Case
2018 Tiesto Lady Pluck
Gee Gee Secondover
 *dead heat 2nd
2017 Pateena Arena Peristrophie Geegee Rock’n’run
2016 Hot Dipped Hussy’s Glow Gee Gee Double Dee
2015 Gold Busker Siorca Band On The Run
2014 Admiral Geegees Doublejay Toothless
2013 Grand Tycoon Geegees Velvet Gee Gees Style
2012 Cheyenne Warrior Kenjorwood Kincara Miss
2011 Golden Archer Triple Asset More Awesome
2010 Strike The Tiger Cuddles For Naara Gathering Gold
2009 Rock The Moment Bombay Sling Catwen Boy
2008 Testamarriage Apprehend Huiskes
2007 Ehor Extension Of Time Cash Stash
2006 Rustia Emily’s Girl Aunty Val
2005 Darcenell Santorini Sky Grinful
2004 Fearless Admiral Taxi Tom Shining Storm
2003 Snip Attack Gehenna Fine Omens
2002 Fracas Dream Quest Alluvian
2001 Found East No Remittance Qui Lady
2000 Magpie’s Chorus The Flea Taj Lotto