Gilgai Stakes Race Information

The Gilgai Stakes is a 1200 metre set weights plus penalties race run by the Victoria Racing Club in early October. It is run at Flemington as part of the Melbourne Spring Racing Carnival.

  • Race Type: Group 2
  • Distance: 1200 metres
  • Conditions: Set weights plus penalties, 3YO & upwards
  • Track: Flemington Racecourse, Melbourne, Victoria
  • Prizemoney: $300,000
  • Date: Saturday 7 October 2023

Gilgai Stakes Race History

See the 2023 Gilgai Stakes Preview and results

See the 2022 Gilgai Stakes Preview and results

See the 2021 Gilgai Stakes Preview and results

See the 2020 Gilgai Stakes Preview and results

Coming soon.

Gilgai Stakes Facts

Last mare to win: Sunlight (2019)

Last 3YO to win: C&G – Royal Troubadour (1984); Filly – no filly has won the Gilgai Stakes

Multiple winners: Chautaiqua (2014 & 2015); Bomber Bill (2000 & 2003).

Fastest time (1200m): Falkirk (2005) 1:07:96

Interesting trivia: Redelva won in 1988 and was second in 1989, 1990 and 1991.

Past winners of the Gilgai Stakes

Winners of past Gilgai Stakes include horses that go on to win major spring races.

Year Winner Second Third
2023 Star Patrol Triple Missile C’est Magique
2022 Private Eye Roch ‘N’ Horse Baller
2021 Kementari  Zoutori Kemalpasa
2020 Zoutori Dollar for Dollar Kemalpasa
2019 Sunlight Santa Ana Lane Zoutori
2018 I Am Excited Eduardo Bons Away
2017 Keen Array Sold For Song Malibu Style
2016 The Quarterback We’ve Got This Durendal
2015 Chautauqua Delectation Knoydart
2014 Chautauqua Bounding Final Crescendo
2013 Platelet Spirit Of Boom Steps In Time
2012 Hallowell Belle King’s Rose Spirit Of Boom
2011 Temple Of Boom Sistine Angel Response
2010 Hay List Catapulted Chasm
2009 All Silent First Command Light Fantastic
2008 El Cambio Swick Murtajill
2007 Stanzout Shadoways Valedictum
2006 Fast N Famous Shadoways Dance Hero
2005 Falkirk Glamour Puss Recapitalize
2004 Recapitalize Falkirk Amtrak
2003 Bomber Bill Mr. Magoo Red Labelle
2002 Cosmic Strike Strategic Image Rubitano
2001 Belle Du Jour Point Danger Gold Class
2000 Bomber Bill Sports Umrum
1999 Black Bean Cannyanna Star Joe
1998 Rebel Dantelah Classic Day
1997 Rock You Always A Chance Wry Hero
1996 Poetic King Lion Hunter Rubidium
1995 Racer’s Edge Rullene I Love Sydney
1994 Hareeba You Remember Simonstad
1993 Simonstad Danjiki Vladazair
1992 Storaia Tanjian Prince Tea Habit
1991 Vain Sovereign Redelva Mister Till
1990 Joanne Redelva Grandiose
1989 Grandiose Redelva Dark Beau
1988 Redelva Jet Fighter Franklin Pride
1987 Placid Ark Christmas Tree Special
1986 Campaign King New Atlantis
Rich Fields Lad
 * dead-heat 2nd
1985 Rich Fields Lad Rory’s Jester Globetrotter
1984 Royal Troubador River Rough Final Affair