The Futurity Stakes is a 1400 metre weight-for-age race held at Caulfield in February or early March each year. It is run by the Melbourne Racing Club and is part of the Asian Mile Challenge.

  • Race Type: Group 1, Open WFA
  • Distance: 1,400 metres
  • Track: Caulfield Racecourse, Melbourne, Victoria
  • Date: Saturday 20 February 2021

The Futurity Stakes was first held in 1898 when it was won by Resolute. The distance then was 7 furlongs (about 1400 metres) and in 1973 it became 1400 metres until 2005, barring 1979 when it was run over 1800 metres. It became a weight-for-age race in 1979 and a Group 1 race in 1980.

In 2006 the distance was increased to 1600 metres and it became the first leg of the Asian Mile Challenge series.

The Asian Mile Challenge is an international series of four Group 1 1600 metre races in four countries. The races are the Futurity Stakes in Melbourne, the Dubai Duty Free Stakes in Dubai, the Champions Mile in Hong Kong and the Yasuda Kinen in Tokyo.

Futurity Stakes Final Field & Odds 2018

See below for early betting markets on this years Futurity Stakes.

Futurity Stakes Preview & Tips 2018

Track: Good  Weather: Showers

There are eleven runners in the $500,000 Italktravel Futurity Stakes. Six of them raced in the Orr Stakes a fortnight ago. The early favourite is Brave Smash who was held up and flew home for a close 3rd in the Orr. Second favouritism is shared between Tosen Stardom who ran 2nd in this race last year, and three-year-old Mighty Boss who was less than a length behind the winner in the Orr.

Humidor resumes here after finishing well back in the Melbourne Cup and will find this too short. Showtime resumed for 2nd in the G2 Expressway and should go well here. Mr Sneaky goes well third-up while Shillelagh, the only mare in the race, has great second-up form. Lord Of The Sky was 5th in the Orr and has won a trial very well since then. The other three runners are currently 25 to 1 or longer.

The following are the top 4 selections from our tipster panel for this years race.

Jo’s Tips
3 Brave Smash
1 Tosen Stardom
11 Showtime
4 Lord Of The Sky

Past winners of the Futurity Stakes:

Good three-year-olds frequently win the Futurity Stakes with three-year-old winners including All Too Hard (2013), Reset (2004), Yell (2003), Dash For Cash (2002), Desert Sky and Mr Murphy who dead-heated in 2001, and many more. The last three-year-old filly to win was Cendrillion in 1967. Mares and fillies have a poor record in the race and only 11 have won in its history of over 100 years. The most recent were Suavito in 2015 and Typhoon Tracy in 2010.

There have been several horses who have won this race more than once with the most notable being Ajax who won in 1938, 1939 and 1940, and Manikato who won in 1979, 1980, 1981 and 1983. The CF Orr Stakes is regarded as a good lead-up race to the Futurity.

Year Winner Second Third
2020 Streets Of Avalon Super Seth Melody Belle
2019 Alizee Malaguerra Hartnell
2018 Brave Smash Tosen Stardom Showtime
2017 Black Heart Bart Tosen Stardom Ecuador
2016 Turn Me Loose Stratum Star Suavito
2015 Suavito Smokin’ Joey Dissident
2014 Moment Of Change Sertorius Pinwheel
2013 All Too Hard Glass Harmonium King Mufhasa
2012 King Mufhasa Pinker Pinker Adamantium
2011 More Joyous Whobegotyou Dao Dao
2010 Typhoon Tracy Dao Dao Sniper’s Bullet
2009 Niconero Light Fantastic Alamosa
2008 Niconero Cargo Cult Miss Finland
2007 Aqua D’amore Seachange El Segundo (NZ)
2006 Fields Of Omagh Red Dazzler Rosden
2005 Regal Roller Super Elegant Modern
2004 Reset Vocabulary Yell
2003 Yell Innovation Girl Roman Arch
2002 Dash For Cash Chattanooga Aquiver
2001 Desert Sky
Mr Murphy
[dead heat for 1st} Porto Roca
2000 Testa Rossa Miss Pennymoney Redoubte’s Choice