Furphy Plate Race Information

The Furphy Plate is an 1800 metre open handicap race run by the Victorian Racing Club in early November. It is held at Flemington as part of the Melbourne Cup Carnival.

  • Race Type: Listed
  • Distance: 1800 metres
  • Conditions: Open handicap
  • Track: Flemington Racecourse, Melbourne, Victoria
  • Prizemoney: $175,000
  • Date:Tuesday 7 November 2023

Furphy Plate Race History

The race has had many names including the Hong Kong Jockey Club Plate, Emirates Airline Plate, Johnnie Walker Stakes, Diamond Jubilee Plate, Visit Victoria Plate, James Boag’s Stakes and Furphy Plate. Its registered name is the Melbourne Cup Day Plate.

Lead-up races can include the Group 2 Crystal Mile, Group 3 Moonga Stakes, Group 3 Coongy Cup and the Cranbourne Cup.

Useful Facts

Last mare to win: Atacama (2014)

Fastest time (1800m): Depeche Mode (1999) 1:47:50

Interesting trivia:

Past winners of the Furphy Plate

Winners of past Furphy Plates include Zipping (2005).

Year Winner Second Third
2023 Forgot You Warning Sibaaq
2022 Bartholomeu Dias Just Folk Lord Vladivostok
2021 Milton Park Skyman Charleise
2020 Purple Sector Gold Fields Odeon
2019 Yulong Prince Looks Like Elvis So You Win
2018 Kaonic Life Less Ordinary Testashadow
2017 Odeon Life Less Ordinary Second Bullet
2016 Fabrizio Tucanchoo Desert Jeuney
2015 Awesome Rock Malice Garud
2014 Atacama Sysmo Pheidon
2013 Salon Soldier Midsummer Sun Mull Of Killough
2012 Eclair Surprise Grey Assignment Tribal Rock
2011 Lamasery Extra Zero Right Fong
2010 Tagus Right Fong Hidden Wonder
2009 Right Fong La Rocket Sound Of Nature
2008 Annenkov The Fuzz Mission Critical
2007 Flash Trick Eclair Passion Fire In The Night
2006 Polar Bear Lancettier Dr Nipandtuck
2005 Zipping Break The Vault Newton
2004 Stamen Jakodae Fonome
2003 Kablammo Kane Smytzer My Gibreel
2002 Palidamah Yoruba Evander
2001 Fields Of Omagh Thong Classic Shot Of Thunder
2000 Typhoon Saboteur Grampians
1999 Depeche Mode Siri Nelg Honourable Mention