Frances Tressady Stakes Race Information

The Frances Tressady Stakes is a 1400 metre set weights plus penalties race for fillies and mares run by the Victoria Racing Club in late February or early March. It is held at Flemington as part of the Melbourne Autumn Racing Carnival.

  • Race Type: Group 3
  • Distance: 1400 metres
  • Conditions: Set weights plus penalties, Fillies & mares, 3YO & upwards
  • Track: Flemington Racecourse, Melbourne, Victoria
  • Prizemoney: $200,000
  • Date: Saturday 17 February 2024

Frances Tressady Stakes Race History

See the 2024 Frances Tressady Stakes Preview and results.

See the 2023 Frances Tressady Stakes Preview and results.

The race was first held in 1975 as a Listed race over 1400m called the Frances Tressady Stakes, and was won by a horse called Half A Moment. In 1980 it was upgraded to a Group 3 race and the distance was increased to 1600m but it was only raced at this distance for 1980-1981 and 1983-1985 as it was run over 1400m in 1982 and returned to that distance from 1986 onwards. From 1995 to 2012 the name changed several times as the race had different sponsors – Devon Park Stud Stakes (1995-1999), Chairman’s Club Stakes (2000), Drumstick Gold Plate (2001), Tooheys New Plate (2002-2004), Schweppes Stakes (2005), Schweppervescence Trophy (2006-2010) and PFD Food Services Stakes (2011-2012) – until returning to the original name from 2013 onwards. It was run as a Listed race in 2010 but has been a Group 3 race again from 2011 onwards.

Useful Facts

Last 3YO to win: Typhoon Tracy (2009)

Multiple winners: Annavisto (2022 & 2023); New Smyrna (1996 & 1997)

Fastest time (1400m): Annavisto (2023) 1.21: 59 at Flemington; Laura’s Charm (2007) 1:21:53 (ran at Caulfield)

Interesting trivia: 1976 winner Hartshill won the 1974 Golden Slipper,

Past winners of the Frances Tressady Stakes

Winners of past Frances Tressady Stakes include Typhoon Tracy (2009), Skewiff (2005), New Smyrna (1996 & 1997), Tolanda (1995), Tarare (1993), Acushla Marie (1992), Riva Gleam (1989), Minuetto (1979) and Hartshill (1976).

Year Winner Second Third
2024 Revolutionary Miss Forbidden City Fortunate Kiss
2023 Annavisto Wrote To Arataki Excelida
2022 Annavisto Vespertine Electric Girl
2021 Chaillot Need New Friends Shout The Bar
2020 Sylvia’s Mother Mamzelle Tess Fidelia
2019 Oregon’s Day Clarice Cliffs Aristia
2018 Flippant Oregon’s Day Soho Ruby
2017 Turbo Miss Rising Romance Jalan Jalan
2016 Wawail Whistle Baby Choose
2015 Madam Gangster Girl Guide Nadeem Lass
2014 Five All Floria Sino Eagle
2013 Tavarnelle Sheila’s Star Koonoomoo
2012 Raspberries Biancon Rose Booklet
2011 Aloha Flying Tessie I’m Discreet
2010 Captain Coltish Danzylum Marveen
2009 Typhoon Tracy Afterburn Delyara
2008 Coniston Gem Autumn Jeuney Brom Felinity
2007 Laura’s Charm Fidemus Brockman’s Lass
2006 Breezy Astrodame Con’s Amy
2005 Skewif Songs Of Vienna Llanga
2004 Demographic Tenacious Spirit Lady Sophia
2003 Galapagos Girl Special Grange Flash Bash
2002 Shelbourne Lass Ramano’s Star Spurn
2001 Ticket To Rome Inaflury Kaemess
2000 Northern Song Market Price La Mookta
1999 Fuss Greeting Graceful Encounter
1998 Blue Storm Miss Tessla Vonanne
1997 New Smyrna Misunderstanding Miss Tessla
1996 New Smyrna Calypso Jadeva Belle
1995 Tolanda Pindi Procrastinate
1994 Not Released Lovey Tarare
1993 Tarare Lovey Treen
1992 Acushla Marie Twiglet Holiday Lover
1991 O’Deputy Hot Set Memphis Blues
1990 Thelma Josephine Kara’s Magic River Gleam