Debutant Stakes Race Information

The Debutant Stakes is a 1000 metre set weights race for two-year-olds run by the Melbourne Racing Club in October. It is held at Caulfield as part of the Melbourne Spring Racing Carnival.

  • Race Type: Listed
  • Distance: 1000 metres
  • Conditions: Set weights, 2YOs
  • Track: Caulfield Racecourse, Melbourne, Victoria
  • Prizemoney: $175,000
  • Date: Saturday 10 October 2020

Debutant Stakes Race History

900m until 2004 and increased to 1000m from 2005.

coming soon

Useful Facts

Last filly to win: Champagne Boom (2018)

Fastest time (1000m): Villa Verde (2016) 0:57:23

Interesting trivia:

Past winners of the Debutant Stakes

Winners of past Debutant Stakes include some quality horses.

Year Winner Second Third
2020 Fake Love Extreme Warrior Naples
2019 Tanker Euphoric Summer Queen Of Rocks
2018 Champagne Boom Biscara Wedgetail
2017 Qafila Sacred Sword Encryption
2016 Wait For No One Spoils Miss Wahoo