Caulfield Autumn Classic Race Information

The Caulfield Autumn Classic is an 1800 metre set weight race for three-year-olds run by the Melbourne Racing Club in February. It is held at  as part of the Melbourne Autumn Racing Carnival.

  • Race Type: Group 2
  • Distance: 1800 metres
  • Conditions: Set weights, 3YOs
  • Track: Caulfield Racecourse, Melbourne, Victoria
  • Prizemoney: $300,000
  • Date: Saturday 24 February 2024

Caulfield Autumn Classic Race History

See the 2024 Caulfield Autumn Classic Preview and results.

See the 2023 Autumn Classic Preview and results.

The race was first held as a Principal Race over one and a quarter miles (about 2000m) in 1957. It was called the Stanley Plate, a name it retained until after the 1986 running, and it was won by a horse called Lord Gavin. With the introduction of the metric system the distance became 2000m in 1973, and in 1979 it became a Listed race. In 1987 the distance was reduced to the current 1800m, then in 1989 it was promoted to Group 3 status, In 1994 it was upgraded again to the current Group 2 status.

When Damien Oliver won on Castlereagh Kid in 2022 it was his 5th win in this race.

Caulfield Autumn Classic Facts

Last filly to win: Parure (2021)

Fastest time (1800m): Waikikamukau (1994) 1:47:3

Caulfield Autumn Classic & Australian Guineas: Pins (2000); Dignity Dancer (1999); Gold Guru (1998); King’s High (1989)

Interesting trivia: Parure (2021) and Triscay (1991) are the only fillies to have won the Caulfield Autumn Classic. 1982 winner Gurner’s Lane went on to win the 1982 Caulfield Cup and the 1982 Melbourne Cup.

Past winners of the Caulfield Autumn Classic

Winners of past Caulfield Autumn Classics include horses that go on to contest the Group 2 Alister Clark Stakes over 2040m.

Year Winner Second Third
2024 Immediacy Caracas Our Couver
2023 Pericles Mr Maestro Ausbred Rising Sun
2022 Castlereagh Kid Lucky Decision El Patroness
2021 Parure Butter Chicken Khoekhoe
2020 Adelaide Ace Nonconformist Legion Of Merit
2019 Global Exchange Cossetot Aramayo
2018 Valiant Spirit Astoria Mr So And So
2017 Farson Cliff Hanger Captain Rhett
2016 Tally Flying Light Top Ravine
2015 Alpine Eagle Minnesinger Firehouse Rock
2014 Vilanova Countersnip Alpha Beat
2013 Super Cool Fiveandahalfstar Subiaso
2012 Upbeat Flashy Fella Ethiopia
2011 Folding Gear Elusive King Almindoro
2010 Extra Zero Absolute Faith Money Rocks
2009 Stokehouse Excelltastic Zapurple
2008 Brom Brom Allanthus Buca Di Bacco
2007 Ambitious General Danever Furio
2006 Spinney Silver Ninja Cinderella Man
2005 Renewable Stella Grande Dizelle
2004 Elvstroem Delzao Strafed
2003 Natural Blitz Glefti Gallic
2002 Don Eduardo Royal Code All Courage
2001 Fubu Neptunes Journey Inspire
2000 Pins Oval Office Crawl
1999 Dignity Dancer Danske Mossman
1998 Gold Guru El Mirada Zonda
1997 Silver Glade Joegah Tampir Lane
1996 Iron Horse Scenic Royale Video Prince
1995 Hurricane Sky St Covet Baryshnikov
1994 Waikikamukau Mapperleys Star Sari Club
1993 Redding Air Seattle Imposing Bull
1992 Laranto Famous Nick Ready To Explore
1991 Triscay Durbridge My Eagle Eye
1990 Stylish Century Zabeel Western Frontier
1989 King’s High Livistona Lane Outgun
1988 Mr.Danamite Lygon Arms Spacecraft
1987 Myocard Princess Calabrina Hunza’s Ace