Canonbury Stakes Race Information

The Canonbury Stakes is an 1100 metre set weights and penalties race for two-year-old colts and geldings run by the Australian Turf Club in late January or early February. It is held at Rosehill as one of the feature events of the meeting.

  • Race Type: Group 3
  • Distance: 1100 metres
  • Conditions: Set weights and penalties, 2YO colts & geldings
  • Track: Rosehill Racecourse, Sydney, New South Wales
  • Prizemoney: $250,000
  • Date: Saturday 3 February 2023

Canonbury Stakes Race History

See the 2024 Canonbury Stakes Preview and results.

See the 2023 Canonbury Stakes Preview and results.

The race dates back to 1930 when it was held as a Principal Race over 5 furlongs (about 1000m) at Randwick racecourse and was run by a horse named Lightning March ridden by H. Hornery.

Useful Facts

Fastest time (1100m): Diamond To Pegasus (2011) 1:03.41

Canonbury Stakes & Golden Slipper Stakes: Vancouver (2015); Sebring (2007); Fine And Dandy (1958).

Interesting trivia: Race not held in 2007 due to equine influenza.

Past winners of the Canonbury Stakes

Winners of past Canonbury Stakes include Vancouver (2015). Hinchinbrook (2010), Sebring (2008), Not A Single Doubt (2003), Shogun Lodge (1998) and Tulloch (1956).

Year Winner Second Third
2024 Prost Fearless Traffic Warden
2023 Red Resistance King’s Gambit Shinzo
2022 Best Of Bordeaux Rakomelo Flashing Steel
2021 Zethus Home Affairs Sing A Love Song
2020 Prague Global Quest Return With Honour
2019 McLaren Spring Loaded Deep Chill
2018 Performer Stratosphere Exceltic
2017 Pariah Menari Malahat
2016 Tessera Defcon Mount Panorama
2015 Vancouver Outreach Chamarel
2014 Fighting Sun Mr Cha Cha Ghibellines
2013 Never Can Tell Whittington Criterion
2012 Raceway Shelford Narcissus
2011 Diamond To Pegasus Written Consent Wild And Proud
2010 Hinchinbrook Corvidae Run For Wilson
2009 Tickets Manhattan Rain Wanted
2008 Sebring Ming Hoi Treasure Giotto
2007  ** Race not run **
2006 Danehill Smile Keiki Arlington
2005 Diego Garcia Big Joker Coast To The Post
2004 Bradbury’s Luck Kincharm Pasikatera
2003 Not A Single Doubt Valse Des Fleurs Suite
2002 Hammerbeam Bushland L’espalier
2001 Snowland Tom Coureuse Mission Statement
2000 Excellerator Courvoisier Mistegic