Bunbury Cup Race Information

The Bunbury Cup is a 2000 metre quality handicap race run by the Bunbury Race Club in March. It is held at Bunbury as part of the South West Autumn Racing Carnival.

  • Race Type: Listed
  • Distance: 2000 metres
  • Conditions: Quality handicap, 3YO & upwards
  • Track: Bunbury Racecourse, Bunbury, Western Australia
  • Prizemoney: $150,000
  • Date:  Saturday 9 March 2024

Bunbury Cup Race History

See the 2024 Bunbury Cup Preview and results.

See the 2023 Bunbury Cup Preview and results.

The race was first run in 1894 when a five-year-old gelding called Tremloando won. It was given Listed status in 1980 and then was upgraded to Group 3 status in 1983. In 2006 it was downgraded to its current Listed status, and in 2019 the distance was reduced from 2200m to 2000m. Held at Ascot in 2022 and 2023.

Useful Facts

Last mare to win: Paddy’s Shadow (2021)

Multiple winners: Blazing Away (2023 & 2024); Paddy’s Shadow (2021 & 2022 – 2022 was a dead heat); Lords Ransom (2008 & 2012); Beau Heed (1995 & 1998); Little Lilac (1973 & 1975); Prince Elliott (1966 & 1967).

Interesting trivia: In 2003 Money Is Magic and Yelmar Boy dead-heated for first. In 1992 Hard Act and Feverish dead-heated for first. In 1979 Bride of Friendship won on protest from Great Cat.

Past winners of the Bunbury Cup

Winners of past Bunbury Cups include Celestial Show (2000), Rogan Josh (1998), Brechin Castle (1980) and Indian Shell (1978).

Year Winner Second Third
2024 Blazing Away Casino Seventeen Holy Enchantment
2023 Blazing Away No Apology Casino Seventeen
2022 True Attraction
Paddy’s Shadow
 * dead heat 1st Utgard Loki
2021 Paddy’s Shadow Montelena Bella’s Idol
2020 Arctic Stream He’s A Parker Superior Smile
2019 Burger Time He’s A Parker Cappo D’oro
2018 Couleur Bizarre Cappo D’oro Dark Musket
2017 Material Man Zarantz Eleven Seconds
2016 Cougar Express Tonto Cougar Nights
2015 Tick Tock Bloom Global Flirt Cyber Crime
2014 Classique Ivory Operational Summah’s Touch
2013 Destroy Reprisal Dreamaway
2012 Lords Ransom Big Ted Lovre
2011 Street Value Double Barrel Volcanic Causeway
2010 Whipsaw Star Risca Simply Adorable
2009 Wicklow Hills Exhilarating Star Encounter
2008 Lords Ransom Guyno Truckin Tobie
2007 Belarus Kia Ora Miss Forest Frolic
2006 Professional Lady Daka’s Gem Swift Jeune
2005 Power Mak Spider Strikes Blinded
2004 Load And Lockett Kentiara Dundally
2003 Money Is Magic
Yelmar Boy
(dead heat 1st) Mint Play
2002 Exit Lane Storm Power Chestnut Dream
2001 Finito Noble Cavalier Thurston
2000 Celestial Show Lottila Bay Academy Girl