Blue Diamond Stakes Race Information

The Group 1 Blue Diamond Stakes is Victoria’s premier sprint race for two-year-olds run at set weights. It is run by the Victorian Racing Club in February and is held at Caulfield.

  • Race Type: Group 1
  • Distance: 1200 metres
  • Conditions: Set weights, 2YOs
  • Track: Caulfield Racecourse, Melbourne, Victoria
  • Prizemoney: $1,500,000
  • Date: Saturday 20 February 2021

Blue Diamond Stakes Race History

See the 2021 Blue Diamond Stakes Preview and Results.

A field of up to 16 will be racing this year for over $1 million in prize money plus trophies. The race will be contested over 1200 metres on Caulfield’s triangular racecourse. It is a set weight event with colts and geldings carrying 56 1/2 kgs and fillies carrying 54 1/2 kgs.

Useful Facts

Last filly to win: Lyre (2019)

Fastest time (1200m): Hurricane Sky (1994) 1:08:1

Interesting trivia:

Past winners of the Blue Diamond Stakes

The Blue Diamond Stakes is a race renowned for quality as its roll call of past winners attests: Alinghi in 2004, Redoute’s Choice 1999, Hurricane Sky 1994, Courtza 1989, Zeditave 1988, Rancher 1982 and Manikato 1978. Hurricane Sky, carrying 54 kgs, has the fastest stakes time of 1.08.10.

Jockey Dwayne Dunn managed to string four consecutive wins in a row after taking out the 2008 race on Reaan. Previous to that he won the 2007 on Sleek Chassis, 2006 on Nadeem and then the 2005 with Undoubtedly. Both Nadeem and Undoubtedly were sired by Redoute’s Choice, the winner of the 1999 Blue Diamond. 2013 winner Miracles Of Life is a grand-daughter of Redoubte’s Choice and was the first Blue Diamond winner to be ridden by a female jockey, apprentice Lauren Stojakovic.

Year Winner Second Third
2021 Artorius Ingratiating Anamoe
2020 Tagaloa Hanseatic Personal
2019 Lyre Lankan Star Free Of Debt
2018 Written By Enbihaar Oohood
2017 Catchy Pariah Formality
2016 Extreme Choice Flying Artie Zamzam
2015 Pride Of Dubai Reemah Lake Geneva
2014 Earthquake Jabali Cornrow
2013 Miracles Of Life Fast ‘n’ Rocking Godiva Rock
2012 Samaready No Looking Back Armed For Action
2011 Sepoy Hallowell Belle Masthead
2010 Star Witness Shaaheq Beneteau
2009 Reward For Effort Real Saga Maka Ena
2008 Reaan All American Burgeis
2007 Sleek Chassis Zizou Shrewd Rhythm
2006 Nadeem Miss Finland Wonderful World
2005 Undoubtedly Seidnazar Perectly Ready
2004 Alinghi Wager World Peace
2003 Kusi Halibery Divine Secret
2002 Bel Esprit Brief Embrace Pillaging
2001 True Jewels La Lagune Spectatorial
2000 Road To Success Ponton Flyer Mannington

From the archives:

Blue Diamond Stakes Final Field & Odds 2018

See below for early betting markets Markets on this years Blue Diamond Stakes.

Blue Diamond Stakes Preview & Tips 2018

Track: Good  Weather: Showers

There is a full field of 16 plus 4 emergency runners for the $1,500,000 Ladbrokes Blue Diamond Stakes with 10 colts and geldings and 10 fillies. The betting is very open this year and the early favourite is Long Leaf who is unbeaten in 3 starts and is one of 4 runners for the Hayes/Dabernig team. On the second line of betting are Ennis Hill who won the G3 Chairman’s Stakes by a good margin, and Oohood who was 3rd in the Blue Diamond Preview and 2nd in the fillies Prelude, but is still a maiden.

Plague Stone was 2nd in the Prelude and the extra 100m will help. Kinky Boom won the Inglis Premier by a big margin at his only start and should go well here. Prairie Fire won the Talindert last start while Written By won the Blue Diamond Prelude. All other runners are currently at 16 to 1 or longer, including Enbihaar and Lady Horseowner who have both had 2 starts for 2 wins.

The following are the top 4 selections from our tipster panel for this years race.

Jo’s Tips
1 Long Leaf
11 Kinky Boom
10 Enbihaar
2 Written By