Blamey Stakes Race Information

The Blamey Stakes is a 1600 metre set weights plus penalties race run by the Victoria Racing Club in late February or early March. It is held at Flemington as part of the Melbourne Autumn Racing Carnival.

  • Race Type: Group 2
  • Distance: 1600 metres
  • Conditions: Set weights plus penalties, 3YO & upwards
  • Track: Flemington Racecourse, Melbourne, Victoria
  • Prizemoney: $200,000
  • Date: Saturday 27 February 2021

Blamey Stakes Race History

See the 2021 Blamey Stakes Preview and Results.

From 2020, the Blamey Stakes winner earns a ‘win and you’re in’ ballot exemption for the $5 million Special Conditions All Star Mile  (1600m) in mid-March.

History coming soon.

Blamey Stakes Facts

Last mare to win; Suavito (2015)

Last 3YO to win: C&G  – Lord Dudley (1976); Filly – Surround (1977)

Multiple winners: Fifty Stars (2019 & 2020); Durbridge (1994 & 1995); Better Loosen Up (1990 & 1991); Vo Rogue (1988 & 1989); Hyperno (1980 & 1981); Tobin Bronze (1966 & 1967); Dhaulagiri (1961 & 1962); Sailor’s Guide (1957 & 1958)

Fastest time (1400m): Rosden (2006) 1:33:85

Leading trainers: David Hayes has had a lot of success in this race.

Interesting trivia: Vo Rogue won the Blamey Stakes in 1988 and 1989, was 3rd to Better Loosen Up in 1990 and was 2nd to the same horse in 1991.

Past winners of the Blamey Stakes

Winners of past Blamey Stakes include some of the best horses in Australian racing.

Year Winner Second Third
2021 Star Of The Seas Fifty Stars Buffalo River
2020 Fifty Stars Secret Blaze Admiral’s Joker
2019 Fifty Stars So Si Bon Cool Chap
2018 Humidor Cool Chap Hellova Street
2017 Palentino Tosen Stardom Harlem