Begonia Belle Stakes Race Information

The Begonia Belle Stakes is a 1100 metre set weights plus penalties race for mares run by the Victorian Racing Club in late October or early November. It is held at Flemington as part of the Melbourne Cup Racing Carnival.

  • Race Type: Group 3
  • Distance: 1100 metres
  • Conditions: Set weights plus penalties, Mares 4YO & up
  • Track: Flemington Racecourse, Melbourne, Victoria
  • Prizemoney: $200,000
  • Date: Saturday 4 November 2023

Begonia Belle Stakes Race History

See the 2023 Furphy Sprint (Begonia Belle Stakes) Preview and results.

See the 2022 Furphy Sprint (Begonia Belle Stakes) Preview and results.

This race was run as an 1100m handicap from 2005 to 2008 until it became a Listed race in 2009. In 2013 it was upgraded to its current Group 3 status. It has had many names like The Heaven Sprint (2005), Crown Trophy (2006 -2007), Crown Promenade Trophy (2008), Crown Promenade Stakes (2009-2010), G.H. Mumm Stakes (2011-2015), Sensis Stakes (2016), Skip Sprint (2017) and Furphy Sprint (2018 onwards).

Originally held on VRC Oaks Day on the Thursday two days after the Melbourne Cup, it was moved to Victoria Derby day in 2016. It is part of a nine event meeting of all Group races. The four Group 1 races are the Victoria Derby, Kennedy Cantala Stakes, Coolmore Stud Stakes and the Empire Rose Stakes. The two Group 2 races are the Wakeeful Stakes and the Linlithgow Stakes and the two other Group 3 races are the Carbine Club Stakes and Lexus Hotham Handicap.

Runners often use the Alinghi Stakes as a lead-up and also the Northwood Plume Stakes and the Schillaci Stakes.

Begonia Belle was a chestnut filly foaled in 1964 who went on to win the 1969 Newmarket Handicap.

Useful Facts

Multiple winners:  None yet

Fastest time (1100m): Vain Queen (2014) 1:02:7

 Northwood Plume Stakes & Begonia Belle Stakes:  Tofane (2019), Sheidel (2016)

Interesting trivia: Dwayne Dunn was the winning rider in 2009 and 2019.

Past winners of the Begonia Belle Stakes

Winners of past Begonia Belle Stakes include Sheidel (2016), Vain Queen (2014) and Ortensia (2011).

Year Winner Second Third
2023 Queen Of The Ball Hypothetical Dancing Alone
2022 Asfoora Veranskova Sneaky Paige
2021 Minhaaj Ballistic Lover Mileva
2020 Fiesta Too Good Too Hard Zaniah
2019 Tofane Pippie Miss Iano
2018 Divine Quality Booker I Am Excited
2017 Lyuba Savanna Amour Concealer
2016 Sheidel Wild Rain Private Secretary
2015 Pittsburgh Flyer Dublin Lass Brook Road
2014 Vain Queen Bounding Lilliburlero/S Wind
2013 Dystopia Shamal Wind She Can Skate
2012 Honey Flower Dystopia Anise
2011 Ortensia Balmont Miss Octopussy
2010 Status Symbol Jerezana Zingaling
2009 Very Discreet Seeking Attention Serenissima
2008 Beaming Whitehaven Girl Interfere
2007 Soleil La Chasseuse Ask the Music
2006 Street Smart Soleil Miss Mooney Mooney
2005 Covet Thee Unabated Sojustrememberthis