Batman Stakes Race Information

The Batman Stakes is an 1800 metre handicap race for three-year-olds run by the Victorian Racing Club in early November. It is held at Flemington as part of the Melbourne Cup Racing Carnival.

  • Race Type: Listed
  • Distance: 1800 metres
  • Conditions: Open handicap, 3YOs
  • Track: Flemington Racecourse, Melbourne, Victoria
  • Prizemoney: $175,000
  • Date: Tuesday 3 November 2020

Batman Stakes Race History

The Batman Handicap seems to have been around since at least 1937 when it was held on the Saturday after Melbourne Cup. In 1978 it was a Principal race then in 1979 it became a Listed race. It was not held in 2001. It has had many names including the Tetley Stakes, Eurovox Stakes, Hardy Brothers Jewellers Stakes, Sutcliffe Stakes, Myer Spring Stakes, Connoisseur Stakes, TCL TV Stakes and several others. In 2020 it is run as the TAB Trophy Stakes.

Lead up races include the Listed 3YO Geelong Classic, Group 3 Carbine Club Stakes, Group 2 Moonee Valley Fillies Classic, Listed Hill Smith Stakes in Adelaide and Bondi Stakes in Sydney.

Past winners of the Batman Stakes

Winners of past Batman Stakes include horses that go on to win major spring races.

Year Winner Second Third
2020 Ain’tnodeeldun Confrontational Grinzinger Lord
2019 Pancho Russian Camelot Highland Jakk
2018 Vow And Declare Junipal Tavidance
2017 All Too Huiying Black Sail Sky Boy
2016 Anaheim Righteous Mate Rockstar Rebel
2015 Hursley Sea of Tranquility War Legend
2014 Petrology Chill Party Tashbeeh
2013 Surge Ahead Pompeius Gallatin
2012 Flying Skipper Scapolo Kazanluk
2011 Proliferate Vincente Euryale
2010 Backgammon
2009 Turf Express
2008 Stokehouse
2007 Miss Marielle
2006 Furio
2005 Brockman’s Lass
2004 Kengrande
2003 Pay Keys
2002 Perlin
2001 Mr Trickster
2000 Scenic Warrior
1999 Whistler
1998 My Jaspa