Australia Day Cup Race Information

The Australia Day Cup is a 2400 metre quality handicap race run by the Australian Turf Club on Australia Day on 26 January. It is held at Warwick Farm as the feature race of the meeting.

  • Race Type: Listed
  • Distance: 2400 metres
  • Conditions: Quality handicap, 3YO & upwards
  • Track: Warwick Farm Racecourse, Sydney, New South Wales
  • Prizemoney: $200,000
  • Date: Friday 26 January 2024

Australia Day Cup Race History

See the 2024 Australia Day Cup Preview and results.

See the 2023 Australia Day Cup Preview and results.

The race dates back to at least 1969 when it was won by Court Prince ridden by George Moore.

Useful Facts

Last mare to win: Fairygem (2010)

Multiple winners: Destiny’s Kiss (2016 & 2017)

Fastest time (2400m): Fairygem (2010) 2:27:58

Interesting trivia:

Past winners of the Australia Day Cup

Winners of past Australia Day Cups include some quality stayers.

Year Winner Second Third
2024 Naval College Torrens Kirkeby
2023 Chalk Stream Spirit Ridge Military Mission
2022 Kaapfever Parry Sound Mubariz
2021 Skymax Wolfe Kaapfever
2020 Taikomochi Naval Warfare Mr Garcia
2019 Etymology Naval Warfare Fabrizio
2018 Cordero Dee I Cee Destiny’s Kiss
2017 Destiny’s Kiss Shalmaneser Foreign Prince
2016 Destiny’s Kiss Dream Folk Thurston
2015 Danas Best Permit Oriental Lady
2014 Travolta Big Memory Brigantin
2013 Shadows In The Sun Travolta Reuben Percival
2012 Wazn Yulalona Legsman
2011 Lang Tide Bid Spotter
2010 Fairygem Rainbow Styling Come on Cugat
2009 Zavite Come On Cugat Macknuckle
2008 El Meroo Philosophe Party Crasher
2007 Prince Arthur Taken At The Flood Grandiloquent
2006 Respect Danebar Break the Barrier
2005 Havanna Wind Lorne Valley Men at Work
2004 Terrific Taurus Restless Raw Instinct
2003 Stoway Majestically Terrific Taurus
2002 Power of Pegasus Zareyev Lanolin
2001 Better Still Inspect Lanolin
2000 Prophet’s Kiss Striding Edge Apache King
1999 Red Ivory She’s Neat Triple Crown
1998 Angellen Praise Indeed Nassirich
1997 Mac’s Victory Ronzino Linesman
1996 All Angels Cross Swords Staying Alive
1995 The Fledgling Tiggy Touchwood Kei Konei
1994 Stage Shy Surrender Now Dangambin
1993 Kalamarco Sungent Il Sorbo
1992 Moville Peter Garfunkel Outgun
1991 Prizaan Oakwood Copatonic
1990 Anybody Home Sir Dalthai Record Dash
1989 Exceptional Angel Tierra Rist Nickson
1988 Sollevare Western Ace Swanky Sea
1987 Limitless Silver Award Palmyra Bay
1986 Magic Shower Ken’s Fortune Never Over
1985 Hermod Exparte Tulsa Knight
1984 Spring Moss Brahminy Vickey Av
1983 Favoloso Brass Bell Red Era
1982 Bianco Lady Bourbon Boy Berani
1981 Peninsula King’s Ideal Favoloso
1980 He’ll Do Favoloso Better Bye
1979 Zamazaan Lass Favoloso Full Back
1978 On Your Mark Boogie Woogie Bombshell
1977 Lazy Pat Maddox Lane Roman Emperor
1976 Khalefox Crusader King Lazy Pat
1975 Hotray Just Lester Onricur
1974 Oncidon French Cavalier Bold Error
1973 Odyssey Lady Venn Rank And File
1972 Te Amo Paris Girl Raad
1971 Devil’s Island Big Tree Redlands
1970 Sandy’s Hope Great Exploits Tulstar
1969 Court Prince Del Charro Silent Review