Wagga Wagga Gold Cup Race Information

The Wagga Wagga Gold Cup is a 2000 metre handicap race run by the Murrumbidgee Turf Club in late April or early May. It is held at Wagga as the feature race of a 2 day Racing Carnival.

  • Race Type: Listed
  • Distance: 2000 metres
  • Conditions: Open handicap
  • Track: Wagga Racecourse, Wagga Wagga, New South Wales
  • Prizemoney: $170,000
  • Date: Friday 7 May 2021

Wagga Wagga Gold Cup Race History

This is the premier race of the Murrumbidgee Turf Club. It dates back to 1871 when it was called the Free Handicap and was won by a horse called Wisdom and the prizemoney was 300 sovereigns. In 1874 the race was run as the Wagga Cup with prizemoney of 500 sovereigns and in 1875 prizemoney doubled to 1000 sovereigns. !876 was the first running of the Wagga Gold Cup where the prizemoney of 1000 guineas was also supplemented with a gold cup provided by a sponsor, and for the next 14 years these cups were donated by wealthy sportspeople residing in the south-west of New South Wales. You can find pictures of these early gold cups online and they they were magnificent much sought after trophies.

These days the race is held as part of a two-day Racing Carnival with the Town Plate on the Thursday and the Wagga Gold Cup on the Friday, normally the first Friday in May. It is a major event for the town with people flocking there from across NSW and the Canberra region. Accommodation can be hard to fiind with many people booking a year in advance.

Useful Facts

Last mare to win: Call Me Lily (2002)

Multiple winners: Allez Bijou (1981 & 1984); Big Bickies (1979 & 1980); Cop ( 1976 & 1978); What Fun (1967 & 1968); Flash Gem (1957 & 1958); Collison (1948 & 1949).

Fastest time (2000m): Goodwood (1999) 1:59:8

Interesting trivia: In 2020 House Of Cartier was first past the post but was disqualified due to a positive swab, making John Thompson’s overseas import Maurus the new winner.

Past winners of the Wagga Wagga Gold Cup

Winners of past Wagga Wagga Gold Cups include horses that go on to win major spring races.

Year Winner Second Third
2020 Maurus Master Of Arts High Opinion
2019 Abdon High Opinion Willi Willi
2018 Life Less Ordinary Self Sense Montauk
2017 Stampede Life Less Ordinary Cool Chap
2016 Messene Iggi Pop Adirondack
2015 Landlocked Faust Gypsy Diamond
2014 Trade Commissioner Beyond Thankful Price Of Glory
2013 Scream Machine Devised Coliseo
2012 Coliseo Devised Rain Drum
2011 Voice Commander World Wide Ironstein
2010 Sainthood Barlagarney Twin Wing
2009 Macknuckle Cape Breton Penrickson
2008 Tommifrancs Limani Grand Zulu
2007 Fooram Mi Casa EL Meroo
2006 Mc Lir Jamberoo Prime Century
2005 Natural Blitz My Tally Xlerate
2004 Vanquished Not Fussy Maskerado
2003 Kreisler Mirage Majestically Johnny Reb
2002 Call Me Lily Bedouin Hydromaster
2001 Regal Touch Viva La Vie Norm’s Bridle
2000 Sporting Kugelhope Lady Alate