WA Guineas Race Information

The WA Guineas is a 1600 metre set weights race for three-year-olds run by Perth Racing in late November. It is run at Ascot as part of the Perth Summer Racing Carnival.

  • Race Type: Group 2
  • Distance: 1600 metres
  • Conditions: Set weights, 3YOs
  • Track: Ascot Racecourse, Perth, Western Australia
  • Prizemoney: $500,000
  • Date: Saturday 25 November 2023

WA Guineas Race History

See the 2023 WA Guineas Preview and results

See the 2022 WA Guineas Preview and results

See the 2020 WA Guineas Preview and results

History coming soon.

Useful Facts

Last filly to win; Treasured Star (2021)

Fastest time (1400m): Moccasin Bend (2008) 1:33.7

WA Guineas & Kingston Town Classic: Arcadia Queen (2018); Ihtsahymn (2013); Playing God (2010); Old Nick (1998); Summer Beau (1996); Importune (1984).

Interesting trivia: Local runners go well in this race.

Past winners of the WA Guineas

Winners of past WA Guineas often go on to race against the older horses during the Perth carnival.

Year Winner Second Third
2023 Zipaway A Lot Of Good Men Super Smink
2022 Amelia’s Jewel Bustler Saintorio
2021 Treasured Star Stay Safe Devoted
2020 Watch Me Dance Em Tee Aye Dom To Shoot
2019 War Saint Kay Cee Red Can Man
2018 Arcadia Queen Lady Cosmology Flirtini
2017 Perfect Jewel Achener Star Art Series
2016 Variation Ellicazoom Ragazzo D’Oro
2015 Man Booker Spirit Bird The Cobbla
2014 Rommel Disposition Say Geronimo
2013 Ihtsahymn Miss Rose De lago Saint Bro
2012 Academus Bippo No Bungus Darlington Abbey
2011 King Saul Caiguna Red Hot Sax
2010 Playing God Lauradane Hoegaarden
2009 Clueless Angel Thorn Dancer The Corporation
2008 Moccasin Bend Locus Standi Saxon Palace
2007 Megatic Perestroika Moisture
2006 Vain Crusader Real Cheeky Translate
2005 Cape North Lock The Vault Geil
2004 Dr John Moet Magic Stormy Nova
2003 River Mist Changing Lanes Laetare
2002 The Right Money Trimagic Amphritite
2001 Royal Retrieve Kentiara Dexian
2000 Kalatiara Mr Tanzania Eutectic
1999 Devilish Dealer Mulga King Major Metal
1998 Old Nick Kim Angel Easy Rhythm
1997 Chelsea Brooklyn Bridge Magdalena
1996 Summer Beau Victory Dash News Review
1995 Bradson My Pago Crusoe
1994 Tip The Pro Beaux Art Sourire
1993 El Cordero Wabasso Noble Baroness
1992 Classy Dresser Jungle Comedy Cash Hand
1991 Vows Old Role Time Frame
1990 So Dashing Quality Choice Heaps More
1989 Kaysart Spirit Of Fire Major Mo
1988 My Bobby Boo Fancy Game Deluxe Model
1987 Tabharry Joy Of The Jungle Flash Kali
1986 Best Time Joindre Sanhedrin’s Pride
1985 Ever Ready Walenska Grey Jane
1984 Importune Top Operator Irish Brew
1983 Storm Tide Old Spice Lady Of Shalott
1982 Rare Flyer Rich Moss Cheeky Trot
1981 Admiral Star Vortilla Hubon
1980 Fortune Favours Papermaker Cordroy
1979 Star God Pure Gamble Arkenstone
1978 Rare Sovereign Regimental Honour Fields Of Cotton
1977 Caduceus Waitangirua Common Touch
1976 Blue Nucleus Drinks On Me Captain Blood
1975 Ngawyni Super Red Farranfore
1974 Gipsy Prince Wolf City Crown Of Blue
1973 High Value Gilt Pattern Our Pocket
1972 Millefleurs I’m Scarlet Clear Mak
1971 Indian Shell Ride Easy Dumick / Abrego
1970 Heliolight Honey Bowl Tricar
1969 Kilrickle Surrender Polo Jane
1968 Beau Shar All Legal Hispano
1967 Super Sam Golden Rack London Flyer
1966 Jolly Aster Dumar Parnassian Heights
1965 Baccare Kimberley Star Bibra Boy
1964 Rock Drill Royal Coral Carol’s Choice
1963 Norval Boy Ring O’Luck Kinglike
1962 Nicopolis Cooladerra Free Style
1961 Water Power Magic Colour North Globe
1960 Chestillion Beech Nut Billian
1959 Queen Of The May Kuantan Queen Of The Nile
1958 High Channel England’s Dust Fluency
1957 Emporium Cheeky Jan Pegulara
1956 Fairflow Tribal Ring Lady Orator
1955 Mallant Nazarkhau Aldon Queen
1954 Queen’s Favourite Maniana Asterios
1953 Choya Just Peter Portress
1952 Raconteur Jewel Time St Vernon
1951 Chestnut Lady Alabama Myolian
1950 Jovial Lad Fawzia Law Port
1949 Prediction Miss Beacon Dhostar
1948 Jennie Precedent Melton Lad
1947 Westralian Olga Churinga
1946 Chietain Warrior Filipino Blue Stream
1945 Cherbourg Air Flare Burabidy
1944 Lord Treat Royal Link Tanunda
1943 Kingsley Kalamunda Starry Sky
1942  ** Race not run **
1941  ** Race not run **
1940 Romanette Muffitt Abbey’s Hope
1939 True Flight Culga-Carrie Loyalist
1938 Gay Prince Replete Beaufiler
1937 Footmark Amalettte Juana