Victoria Handicap Race Information

The Victoria Handicap is a 1400 metre open handicap race run by the Melbourne Racing Club normally on Easter Saturday. It is held at Caulfield as one of the feature events of the meeting.

  • Race Type: Group 3
  • Distance: 1400 metres
  • Conditions: Open handicap
  • Track: Caulfield Racecourse, Melbourne, Victoria
  • Prizemoney: $160,000
  • Date: Saturday 3 April 2021

Victoria Handicap Race History

Coming soon.

Useful Facts

Last mare to win: Bam’s On Fire (2020)

Last 3YO to win: C&G – Keeper (2001); Filly – none

Multiple winners: Debrief (2002 & 2003); Jet Fighter (1987 & 1988)

Fastest time (1400m): Lord Luskin (1997) 1:21:80

Interesting trivia:

Past winners of the Victoria Handicap

Winners of past Victoria Handicaps include horses that go on to win major spring races.

Year Winner Second Third
2021 Mr Quickie Still A Star Galaxy Raider
2020 Bam’s On Fire Seabrook Sircconi
2019 Streets Of Avalon Manolo Blahniq Fastnet Tempest
2018 Widgee Turf Turnitaround Ken’s Dream
2017 Hooked Charmed Harmony Turbo Miss
2016 Black Heart Bart Charmed Harmony Eclair Choice
2015 Watermans Bay The Peak Sistine Demon
2014 Sistine Demon Gig London Stripe
2013 Budriguez Sertorius British General
2012 Smokin’ Joey Under The Eiffel Bagman
2011 Red Colossus Budriguez Time Matters
2010 Orbit Express Amberino Delayedreaction
2009 Masked Assassin Chasm Falaise
2008 Gotta Have Heart Valedictum Eskaw
2007 Stickpin Mind Your Head Party Pie
2006 Volitant Calveen Dismissal
2005 Roman Arch Recapitalize Niconero
2004 Regal Roller Bird Dancer Red Hannigan
2003 Debrief Mr Magoo True Glo
2002 Debrief Flavour Belle Ball
2001 Keeper Intelligent Star Orchestrated
2000 Go Flash Go Rancho Spark Typhoon