Vamos Stakes Race Information

The Vamos Stakes is a 1400 metre weight=for-age race for fillies and mares run by the Tasmanian Turf Club in February. It is held at Launceston as part of the Tasmanian Summer Racing Carnival and is one of the feature events of the meeting.

  • Race Type: Group 3
  • Distance: 1400 metres
  • Conditions: Weight for age, Fillies & mares, 3YO & up
  • Track: Launceston Racecourse, Mowbray, Tasmania
  • Prizemoney: $150,000
  • Date: Wednesday 28 February 2024

Vamos Stakes Race History

See the 2024 Vamos Stakes Preview and results.

See the 2023 Vamos Stakes Preview and results.

This race has long been considered one of the best weight-for-age races for fillies and mares in Tasmania. After the 2013 running it was upgraded from a Listed race to a Group 3 race which made it the first Tasmanian race to be upgraded on merit by the Pattern Commiteee. Two years earlier the weight for-age fillies and mares Bow Mistress Trophy (1200m) was upgraded from Listed to a Group 3 but that was a trade-off with the Tasmanian Derby being downgraded from a Group 3 to a Listed race.

Who was Vamos?

Vamos was foaled in 1947 from a mare called Imshi. Her sire was Beau Son. She was owned by Tom Johnston and Harry Johnston (not related to each other) and was trained by Ken Evans at Launceston.

She raced in the 1950s and was one of the best staying mares in Tasmania, winning back-to-back Launceston Cups in 1954-55. She carried 9st 10lb (61.5kg) to win the 1955 Cup which is still the record for the highest winning weight for that race. Jockey Bill Dunstone rode her in all her feature race wins. She was very versatile winning over distances from 1200m to 2600m and has been inducted into the Tasmanian Racing Hall of Fame for her feats.

Useful Facts

Last filly to win: Deroche (2020)

Multiple winners: Lady Lynette (2009, 2011 & 2012)

Fastest time (1400m): I Love It (2016) 1:22:67

Interesting trivia: 

Past winners of the Vamos Stakes

Winners of past Vamos Stakes include I Love It (2016) and Lady Lynette (2009, 2011& 2012).

Year Winner Second Third
2024 Megamea Jenny Jerome Alvarinho
2023 Jaja Chaboogie Sirene Stryker In Her Stride
2022 Take The Sit Estoril Park Yes Baby Yes
2021 Still A Star Deroche Runaway Girl
2020 Deroche Miss Mandito Jentico
2019 Twitchy Frank I Remember You Life On The Wire
2018 Life On The Wire Step The Pedal Gee Gees Top Notch
2017 Kiss Me Ketut Lyuba I Love It
2016 I Love It Boundary Sh’bourne Spirit
2015 Vibrant Rouge Miss Middleton Nadeem Lass
2014 Rebel Bride Miss Stellabelle Isibaeva
2013 Beautiful Buns Rebel Bride Tariana
2012 Lady Lynette Buzzing Along Rebel Bride
2011 Lady Lynette Princess Quality Winged Charm
2010 I’m A Hussy Moulin Rouge Roses For Claire
2009 Lady Lynette Hidden Energy Roses For Claire
2008 Blazonry Reunification Diamond Cove
2007 Lekitama Oceano Reunification