Thomas Lyons Stakes Race Information

The Thomas Lyons Stakes is a 1400 metre weight-for-age race run by the Tasmanian Racing Club in early February. It is held at Hobart on Hobart Cup day.

  • Race Type: Listed
  • Distance: 1400 metres
  • Conditions: Weight-for-age, 3YO & upwards
  • Track: Hobart Racecourse, Hobart, Tasmania
  • Prizemoney: $100,000
  • Date: Sunday 7 February 2021

Thomas Lyons Stakes Race History

The race dates back to at least 1978 when it was won by Sarsha’s Choice.

Useful Facts

Last mare to win: Mystic Journey (2019)

Last 3YO to win: Filly – Mystic Journey (2019)

Multiple winners: Hellova Street (2017 & 2018); Youthful Jack (2012 & 2013); Conquering (2009 & 2011), Royal Rambo (1999 & 2001); Man On The Run (1995 & 1997); Golden Serpent (1993 & 1996):

Fastest time (1400m): Noble Sensation (2002) 1:23:6

Interesting trivia:

Past winners of the Thomas Lyons Stakes

Winners of past Thomas Lyons Stakes include horses that go on to win major spring races.

Year Winner Second Third
2021 Newhart Mystic Journey Blaze Forth
2020 Mandela Effect Hellova Street I’m Wesley
2019 Mystic Journey Hellova Street Chamois Road
2018 Hellova Street Lord Da Vinci Gee Gees Top Notch
2017 Hellova Street Lord Da Vinci Admiral
2016 Admiral Powercharged Perplexing