Tea Rose Stakes Race Information

The Tea Rose Stakes is a 1400 metre set weights event for three-year-old fillies run by the Australian Turf Club held in September. It is run at Randwick as part of the Sydney Spring Racing Carnival.

  • Race Type: Group 2, 3YO Fillies
  • Distance: 1,400 metres
  • Conditions: Set weights
  • Track: Randwick Racecourse, Sydney, New South Wales
  • Prizemoney: $200,000
  • Date: Saturday 19 September 2020

Tea Rose Stakes Race History

Coming soon

Fun Facts

Fastest time (1400m): Guelph (2013) 1:22:10

Fastest time (1500m): Sunline (1998) 1:28.62

Tea Rose Stakes & Golden Slipper Stakes: Ha Ha (2001); Burst (1992); Dark Eclipse (1980)

Leading jockeys: Hugh Bowman with 5 wins (Foxplay 2016; Guelph 2013; Samantha Miss 2008; Cheeky Choice 2006; Prisoner Of Love 2004). Jim Cassidy with 5 wins (Longport 2012; More Strawberries 2010; Shamekha 2003; Ha Ha 2001; Glory Girl 1987)

Leading trainer: Gai Waterhouse

Interesting trivia: The Furious Stakes is the most popular lead-up race.

Past winners of the Tea Rose Stakes

Winners of past Tramway Stakes include horses that go on to win major spring races. Most winners are four and five year olds and it is not won by a mare very often. Notable winners include Happy Clapper, Hauraki, Lucia Valentina, Shaftesbury Avenue, Imposing, Wenona Girl and Amounis.

Year Winner Second Third
2019 Funstar Te Akau Shark Eckstein
2018 Comin’ Through Tom Melbourne Dixie Blossoms
2017 Happy Clapper Tom Melbourne Invincible Gem
2016 Hauraki Le Romain Dibayani
2015 Hooked Ecuador Rudy
2014 Lucia Valentina Tiger Tees Toydini
2013 Malavio Bello Royal Descent
2012 Tagus Kontiki Park Moment Of Time
2011 Sincero Secret Admirer Thankgodyou’rehere
2010 Neeson Cannonball Herculian Prince
2009 Rangirangdoo Stat’s Flyer Murray’s Son
2008 Bank Robber Kick’N Chase Vecchia Roma
2007 ** Race not run **
2006 Primus Stormhill Flaming
2005 Shania Dane Lotteria Utzon
2004 Nips West Country Desert War
2003 Sportsman Britt’s Best Boreale
2002 Gordo Shot Of Thunder Universal Prince
2001 Diamond Dane Maitland Gold Kootoomootoo
2000 Mr Innocent Eau D’Scay Freemason