Sir Ernest Lee Steere Classic Race Information

The Sir Ernest Lee Steere Classic is a 1400 metre set weights plus penalties race for three-year-olds run by the West Australian Turf Club in late November or early December. It is held at Ascot as part of the Perth Summer Racing Carnival.

  • Race Type: Listed
  • Distance: 1400 metres
  • Conditions: Set weights plus penalties, 3YOs
  • Track: Ascot Racecourse, Perth, Western Australia
  • Prizemoney: $125,000
  • Date: Saturday 2 December 2023

Sir Ernest Lee-Steere Classic Race History

See the 2023 Sir Ernest Lee-Steere Classic Preview and results.

See the 2022 Sir Ernest Lee-Steere Classic Preview and results.

Coming soon.

Useful Facts

Last filly to win: Sanabreanna (2019)

Fastest time (1400m): Stormy Nova (Jan 2005) and Secret Monarch (dec 2005 both ran 1:22:43

Interesting trivia:

Past winners of the Sir Ernest Lee Steere Classic

Winners of past Sir Ernest Lee-Steere Classics include Early Express (2002), Mobile Link (1994), Classy Dreamer (1993), Paklani (1991), Placid Ark (1987) and Top Post (1984).

Year Winner Second Third
2023 Investmentstrategy Generosity Stormchaser
2022 Saintorio All The King’s Men Aiyza
2021 Liwa Flying Missile Stay Safe
2020 Kissonallforcheeks Solaia Western Empire
2019 Sanabreanna Massimo Laverrod
2018 The Velvet King Festival Miss Regal Power
2017 War Room Gaulois Reykjavik
2016 Lusaha Caipirinha Precious Memories