Rubiton Stakes Race Information

The Rubiton Stakes is a 1100 metre set weights plus penalties race run by the Melbourne Racing Club in February. It is run at Caulfield on CF Orr Stakes Day during the Melbourne Autumn Racing Carnival.

  • Race Type: Group 2
  • Distance: 1100 metres
  • Conditions: Set weights plus penalties, 3YO & upwards
  • Track: Caulfield Racecourse, Melbourne, Victoria
  • Prizemoney: $300,000
  • Date: Saturday 10 February 2024

Rubiton Stakes Race History

See the 2024 Rubiton Stakes Preview and results.

See the 2023 Rubiton Stakes Preview and results.

See the 2022 Rubiton Stakes Preview and results.

History coming soon.

Rubiton Stakes Facts

Last mare to win; Super Cash (2018)

Last 3YO to win: C&G – Lofty Strike (2023); Filly – Anaheed (2020)

Multiple winners: Super Cash (2017 & 2018); Super Elegant (2003, 2004 & 2005); Schillaci (1993 & 1995)

Fastest time (1100m): Here De Angels (2002) 1:01:7

Rubiton Stakes & Oakleigh Plate: Lankan Rupee (2014)

Rubiton Stakes & The Galaxy: Nature Strip (2019)

Interesting trivia: 1994 winner Alannon and 1989 winner Zeditave were both from the mare Summoned. In 2001 there was a dead-heat of Appoint and Cullen.

Past winners of the Rubiton Stakes

Winners of past Rubiton Stakes include some top sprinters.

Year Winner Second Third
2024 Kallos Asfoora Zapateo
2023 Lofty Strike Uncommon James Chain Of Lightning
2022 Marine One Oxley Road Sword Of Mercy
2021 Prophet’s Thumb Bold Star Garner
2020 Anaheed Bold Star All Too Royal
2019 Nature Strip Jungle Edge Thermal Current
2018 Super Cash Flamberge Merchant Navy
2017 Super Cash I Am A Star Chautauqua
2016 Heatherly Politeness Just A Bullet
2015 Chautauqua Flamberge Atmospherical
2014 Lankan Rupee Iconic First Command
2013 Adebisi Rescue Mission Big Buddie
2012 Eagle Falls First Command Hot Spin
2011 Catapulted Avenue Solar Charged
2010 Here De Angels Lucky Secret Rostova
2009 Mind Your Head Happy Glen
Lucky Secret
 * dead-heat 2nd
2008 Here De Angels Let Go Thommo Raid The Royals
2007 Dance The Waves Barabba Road Message Bank
2006 Bomber Bill Whats The Mail Live In Vain
2005 Super Elegant Truly Wicked Sensational Spot
2004 Super Elegant Ruben Step Ahead
2003 Super Elegant Azevedo Sir Chuckle
2002 Intelligent Star Bomber Bill Sudurka
2001 Appoint Bomber Bill Cullen
2000 Miss Pennymoney St Chrisoph Paint
1999 Flavour Theatre Paint
1998 Al Mansour Special Dane Towkay
2017 Spartacus Regal Centre Flavour
1996 Stalk Sequalo Poetic King
1995 Schillaci Alannon Sequalo
1994 Alannon Lady Jakeo Durbridge
1993 Schillaci Tanjian Prince King Marauding
1992 Mavournae Umatilla Sonic Express