Roma Cup Race Information

The Roma Cup is a 1200 metre weight-for-age race run by the West Australian Turf Club in May. It is held at Belmont as part of the Perth Autumn Racing Carnival.

  • Race Type: Group 3
  • Distance: 1200 metres
  • Conditions: Weight for age, 2YO & upwards
  • Track: Belmont Racecourse, Perth, Weatern Australia
  • Prizemoney: $200,000
  • Date: Saturday 6 April 2024

Roma Cup Race History

See the 2024 Roma Cup Preview and results.

See the 2023 Roma Cup Preview and results.

See the 2022 Roma Cup Preview and results.

The race was first run in 1966 over 2000m when it was won by Summer Storm. The distance was reduced to 1600m in 1967 & 1968 then to 1400m from 1969 to 1979 apart from 1974 when it was over 1600m. It has been the current 1200m distance since 1980 when it became a Group 3 race. In 2023 the distance was reduced to 1100m.

Normally run at Belmont it was at Ascot from 2017 to 2021 before returning to Belmont in 2022, then back to Ascot in 2023

Useful Facts

Last mare to win; Magnifisio (2014)

Last 3YO to win: C&G  – Grand Nirvana (2009); Filly – Wildside (1983).

Multiple winners: Rock Magic (2017 & 2018); Luckygray (2012 & 2015); Grand Nirvana (2009 & 2011); Doctor Golly (1992 & 1993); Wild Side (1982 & 1983); Tangiers (1980 & 1981); Clear Mak (1973 &1974)

Fastest time (1200m): Beau’s Your Uncle (1987) 1:09:40

Leading jockeys: Paul Harvey with 4 wins (No Questions 2007; Modem 2004; Star System 2000; Papillion 1999).

Interesting trivia: In 1968 Drynoch was first past the post but lost on protest to Santaland.

Past winners of the Roma Cup

Winners of past Roma Cups include horses that go on to win major spring races.

Year Winner Second Third
2024 Oscar’s Fortune Amelia’s Jewel Ripcord
2023 Amelia’s Jewel Red Can Man Acromantula
2022 Elite Street Red Can Man Amasenus
2021 Money Matters Elite Street Dance Music
2020 Vega Magic The Velvet King Durendal
2019 Vital Silver Galaxy Star Great Shot
2018 Rock Magic Battle Hero Durendal
2017 Rock Magic Military Reign Durendal
2016 Battle Hero Magnifisio Luckygray
2015 Luckygray Dawn Approach Fuchsia Bandana
2014 Magnifisio Elite Belle Checkpoint
2013 Power Princess Ranger Playing God
2012 Luckygray Our Ol’ Fella Grand Nirvana
2011 Grand Nirvana Power Princess King Kool Kat
2010 Vain Raider Idyllic Prince Grand Nirvana
2009 Grand Nirvana Kens Double Sheenasaidgrey
2008 El Presidente Arctic Park Oroya Gold
2007 No Questions Star Laser Scuffs
2006 Is Amazing Electic River Mist
2005 Avenida Madero River Mist Ambers Halo
2004 Modem Cento Golden Delicious
2003 Tribula Suspicion Dark ‘n’ Dangerous
2002 Kaprats Corporate Bruce Cool Business
2001 Secret Remedy Prince Of Pop Country Blazer
2000 Star System Double Blue Corporate James
1999 Papillion Double Blue Cranky Tikit
1998 Double Blue Wabasso True Lover
1997 Singing The Blues Wabasso Bar Dreamer
1996 Red Eye Special Jacks Or Better Ciderian
1995 Defensive Play Wabasso Bayside
1994 Wabasso Welcome Knight Pago Escort
1993 Doctor Golly Chancery Star Pago’s King
1992 Doctor Golly Blonde Jev Karlgarin Town
1991 Faneso Caliway Island Gossip
1990 Century God Faneso Edge Of Darkness
1989 Straight Cash Manhattan Amber Gambler
1988 Miss Muffet Ableson Fimiston
1987 Beau’s Your Uncle Another Omen Princess Todman
1986 Hanging In Soft As Snow Visionary
1985 Novrak Daring Fling Easy Float
1984 Official Receiver Andretti
Haulpak’s Image
 * dead-heat 2nd
1983 Wild Side Argentine Gold Hurricane Lad
1982 Wild Side Papermaker Echoes Of Spring
1981 Tangiers Echoes Of Spring Royal Messenger
1980 Tangiers Foamende King Cotton
1979 National Boy Common Touch Ace In Action
1978 Pirate’s Den Marjoleo Silvant
1977 Private Section Lucky Boy Elusive Vicki
1976 Super Red Rose Hawk Nolasque
1975 Craigie Boy Chieftain Roisin Dubh
1974 Clear Mak High Romance Rarakoo
1973 Clear Mak Aubette Beau Para
1972 Bernvale Star Glitter All Legal
1971 Star Glitter Red Hunter Baywana
1970 King Orator Rose Satin Ponsadin
1969 Firelight Grey Towers Carlton Cavalier
1968 Santaland Drynoch Merry Flute
1967 Chemech Action Station Lucky Saba
1966 Summer Storm Lintagon Count Sputnik