Red Anchor Stakes Race Information

The Red Anchor Stakes is a 1200 metre set weights plus penalties race for three-year-olds run by the Moonee Valley Race Club in late October. It is held at Moonee Valley as part of the Melbourne Spring Racing Carnival.

  • Race Type: Group 3
  • Distance: 1200 metres
  • Conditions: Set weights plus penalties, 3YOs
  • Track: Moonee Valley Racecourse, Melbourne, Victoria
  • Prizemoney: $200,000
  • Date: Saturday 28 October 2023

Red Anchor Stakes Race History

See the 2023 Red Anchor Stakes Preview and results

See the 2022 Red Anchor Stakes Preview and results

See the 2020 Red Anchor Stakes Preview and results

The race was first run as a Listed race for colts and geldings in 1985 and was won by a horse called Seiger. In 1990 it was upgraded to a Group 3 and from 2001 it was open to all three-years-old including fillies. It has also been called the CS Hayes Stakes, City Pacific Finance Stakes, and the Australia Stakes.

It is held on the same day as the prestigious WS Cox Plate which is the most important event on the Moonee Valley Racing Club’s calendar.

Useful Facts

Last filly to win: Karuta Queen (2011)

Fastest time (1200m): Holler (2015) 1:09:84

Interesting trivia: In 1994 Golden Slipper winner Danzero finished 3rd to Cannibal King. In 1989 Rechabite finished 3rd to Hot Arch before winning the 1989 Victoria Derby.

Past winners of the Red Anchor Stakes

Winners of past Red Anchor Stakes include Holler (2015), Thermal Current (2013), Karuta Queen (2011), Avenue (2009), Yell (2002), Towkay (1997), Spartacus (1996), Sequalo (1993), Begone (1990), Clay Hero (1988), Christmas Tree (1987) and Rubiton (1986).

Year Winner Second Third
2023 Archo Nacho Maharba Don’t Hope Do
2022 Sejardan Sweet Ride Shalailed
2021 Generation Scissor Step Sudoko
2020 Portland Sky Bella Nipotina Valaquenta
2019 Sartorial Splendor Condo’s Express Three Beans
2018 Charge Sunset Watch Ringerdingding
2017 Eptimum Single Bullet Trekking
2016 Archives Crafty Big John Cannon
2015 Holler Brockhoff Demonstrate
2014 Galaxy Pegasus Law Nicoscene
2013 Thermal Current Not Listenin’tome Selectify
2012 Hidden Warrior Haussmann Chosen Moment
2011 Karuta Queen Miss Stellabelle Amah Rock
2010 That’s Not It Happy Trails Lone Rock
2009 Avenue Governance Broken
2008 Millbank Gold In Dubai Montana Flyer
2007 Royal Asscher El Mandon Wilsons Promontory
2006 Corton Charlemagne Far Horizons Evacuate
2005 Coronga Facing The Breeze Angkhasa
2004 Oratorio Kingify World Peace
2003 Youth Flagmentation Happy Strike
2002 Yell Tycoon Ruler Before Too Long
2001 Deprave Firm La Lagune
2000 Sound The Alarm Wurabinda Senet Pete