Ramornie Handicap Race Information

The Ramornie Handicap is a 1200 metre quality handicap race run by the Clarence River Jockey Club on a Wednesday in July. It is held at Grafton as part of the July Racing Carnival the day before the Grafton Cup.

  • Race Type: Listed
  • Distance: 1200 metres
  • Conditions: Quality handicap
  • Track: Grafton Racecourse, Grafton, New South Wales
  • Prizemoney: $200,000
  • Date: Wednesday 12 July 2023

Ramornie Handicap Race History

See the 2023 Ramornie Handicap Preview and results.

See the 2022 Ramornie Handicap Preview and results.

The race was first held as the Newmarket Handicap in 1910 when it was won by a horse called Lauristine. In 1917 the name was changed to the Ramornie Handicap named after the Ramornie Station property on the banks of the Clarence River.

It is held as a feature of the Clarence River Jockey Club’s July racing carnival and takes place on a Wednesday while the Grafton Cup is held on the Thursday.

Useful Facts

Last mare to win: Jerezana (2011)

Last 3YO to win: C&G – Calanda (2017); Filly – ?

Multiple winners: Havasay (2018 & 2019); The Jackal (2007 & 2008); Credit Again (1986 & 1987); High Classic (1980 & 1982); Develope (1970 & 1971); Trovatore (1955 & 1956); Cuban Song (1933, 1934, 1935 & 1936).

Fastest time (1200m): Calanda (2017) 1:07:56

Interesting trivia:

Past winners of the Ramornie Handicap

Winners of past Ramornie Handicaps include horses that go on to win major spring races.

Year Winner Second Third
2023 The Big Goodbye Far Too Easy Ranges
2022 Ranges Gem Song Fender
2021 Southern Lad Phobetor Fender
2020 Signore Fox Haunted Jonker
2019 Havasay Star Boy Freddie Fox Trot
2018 Havasay Belflyer Tyzone
2017 Calanda The Monstar Flippant
2016 Smart Volatility Big Money Steel Zip
2015 Rock Royalty Barbed Rocket To Glory
2014 Big Money Rocky King Territory
2013 Youthful Jack Big Bonanza Pentasia
2012 Howmuchdoyouloveme Prost River Lad
2011 Jerezana Falco Star Motspur
2010 Pinwheel Forestreno Lifebuoy
2009 Battlefield Forestreno Attackum
2008 The Jackal Captain Bax Typhoon Zed
2007 The Jackal Sir Covet Gee I Jane
2006 For Valour Words Of Magic Dan City
2005 King Rex Mastermind Sir Dan
2004 Takeover Target Devil Sir Dan
2003 Sir Breakfast Good Result Turaga
2002 Citichy Caissa Treviscay
2001 Juggling Time Tyr Mr Innocent
2000 Mothers Gift Bold William Olivier
1999 Eyes To Spy Pimpala Prince Regal Centre
1998 Kidlat Antiquity Sovereign State
1997 Galactic Valley Montana Sands Sovereign State
1996 Cangronde Moss Rocket Legal Agent
1995 Indian Chief Legal Agent Sympose
1994 Nevada Lodge Sympose Roussali
1993 Roussali Bound To Play Loud Speaker
1992 Lucky Dapper Mark Time Jackson River
1991 Friend’s Venture Ice Cream Sundae Zadames
1990 Tiny’s Finito Miss Comanche Show County
1989 Lightning Bend Tiny’s Finito Framoli
1988 Regal Affair Classic Victory Musical Curfew
1987 Credit Again Robian Steel Plum Shore
1986 Credit Again High Signal Noble Roman
1985 Planet Man Veiled Report Supaburn
1984 Veiled Report Dashing Vagabond All Chant
1983 Tandrio Turf Burner Vibes
1982 High Classic Sweet Portal Kalina
1981 Razor Sharp Bemboka Yacht Magucy
1980 High Classic Goreham Victory Yacht
1979 Acamar Furl Biscapol
1978 Mistress Anne Sullydale Lad Paravane
1977 Black Shah Galway Bay Selsey
1976 Swiftly Ann Varzin Epistle Monarch
1975 Eternal Broadlights Stormwater
1974 Floating High All Profit Pardons Pride
1973 Toomookoo Pardon’s Pride Nick’s Risque
1972 Docket Develope Shortcrust
1971 Develope Carnifex Top Cobber
1970 Develope High Sierra Windsor Park
1969 Clifton Bridge Surre Queen Todvale
1968 Red Ming Shinzan Surre Queen
1967 Buranda Yorrick Punt High
1966 My Empire Dream Prince Gauntlet Bay
1965 Scottish Craig Denwave Rotherwood
1964 The Peer Galvao Canada
1963 Cragayr Florida Keys Little Nigger
1962 Tamberan Plymouth Just Jewels
1961 Alspick New Farm Aggressive
1960 Flecked Marble Facleigh Diamond Vista
1959 Glanceful Blue Dart Arctic Air
1958 Blue Dart Apache Rim Huff
1957 Spearby Rickaday Ngarauwahia
1956 Trovatore Rapid River Storm Court
1955 Trovatore Lady Cape Perentie
1954 Wedborough Irish Field Osborne
1953 Foreign Exchange Venidis Rob’s Robe
1952 Slander Brazil Swell Prince
1951 Pullson Freyberg Gold Fort
1950 Wild Buck Chanter’s Choice Pullson
1949 Brown Cavallo Goldak Graceful Lad
1948 Persian Prince Gold Valley Lackaboy
1947 Yankee Lad Gold Caste Miss Sovereign
1946 Oriental Lakshmi Vallis Weelaveil
1945  ** Race not run **
1944  ** Race not run **
1943  ** Race not run **
1942  ** Race not run **
1941 Radical Hydra Petruchio
1940 Pagan Song Fashion Leader Auction
1939 Hybol Graceful Mover Glorius
1938 Grand Boy Berani Nabob
1937 Shackleton Schoolmate Rummage
1936 Cuban Song Silpana Petrol Lager
1935 Cuban Song Dogwood Gayhawk
1934 Cuban Song Eversun King Pin
1933 Cuban Song Polyphron Bernard Lorn
1932 Matson Trevallion Credence
1931 Citamon All Phast Caphast
1930 Bavarde Morimond King’s Arms
1929 Helotis Queen Shepherd Ciceron
1928 Woolcia Chipwood Boss Poppy
1927 Singlespear Far East Yannathan
1926 Golden Jack Lilah Fast Leo
1925 Rose Lorna Gay Vixen Fast Leo
1924 Mahanoy Laughter Orient Maid
1923 Lord Thomas Ballante Gooeearbo
1922 Agility Coloness Murillo Gun
1921 Once More Pteropod Inowa
1920 Ready Aye Ready Pickles Strypa
1919 Blue Baron Gooeearbo Pripet
1918 Once More Ready Aye Ready Call To Arms
1917 Sunny Boy Allies’ Gun Volking
1916 Wauken Girl Istrian La Balfour
1915 Inia Istrian Casil Gun
1914 Clanfera Lady’s Lad Prince Araxes
1913 Lady Balfour Lady Kyogle Voldari
1912 Keneway Graftalene George Gunn
1911 Thoas Lady Hope PJR
1910 Lauristine Willarie Ariki