R.M. Ansett Classic Race Information

The R.M. Ansett Classic is a 2400 open handicap race run by the Mornington Racing Club in September. It is held at Mornington as part of the Spring Racing Carnival.

  • Race Type: Listed
  • Distance: 2400 metres
  • Conditions: Open handicap, 3YO & upwards
  • Track: Mornington Racecourse, Mornington, Victoria
  • Prizemoney: $175,000
  • Date: Saturday 30 September 2023

R.M. Ansett Classic Race History

See the 2023 R.M. Ansett Classic Preview and results.

See the 2022 R.M. Ansett Classic Preview and results.

Sir Reginald Ansett had a long association with the Mornington Racecourse and after he passed away in September 1981 the following year the R M Ansett Stakes was held with prizemoney of $20,000.

Useful Facts

Last mare to win; Dame Claire (2012)

Fastest time (2400m): Haripour (2018) 2:28:17

Interesting trivia:

Past winners of the R.M. Ansett Classic

Winners of past R.M. Ansett Classics include some good stayers.

Year Winner Second Third
2023 Born A King Regal Power Rebel Racer
2022 Saracen Knight Verimli Harmysian
2021 Lunar Flare High Emocean Good Idea
2020 High Emocean Tavirun Eureka Street
2019 Valac Exemplar Creedence
2018 Haripour Harrison Hush Writer
2017 Swacadelic King Way Settler’s Stone
2016 Almandin Assign Black Tomahawk
2015 Black Tomahawk Excess Knowledge At First Sight
2014 Like A Carousel Mulaqen Unchain My Heart
2013 Crafty Cruiser Surpass Anagold
2012 Dame Claire  I’m Jake Storm Burst
2011 I’m Jake Dance With Her Our Serena