R A Lee Stakes Race Information

The Cummings Stakes (formerly R A Lee Stakes) is a 1600 metre set weights plus penalties race run by the South Australian Jockey Club in mid-May. It is held at Morphettville on the last day of the Adelaide Autumn Racing Carnival.

  • Race Type: Group 3
  • Distance: 1600 metres
  • Conditions: Set weights plus penalties, 3YO & upwards
  • Track: Morphettville Racecourse, Adelaide, South Australia
  • Prizemoney: $220,000
  • Date: Saturday 11 May 2024

The Cummings Stakes Race History

See the 2024 The Cummings Stakes Preview and results.

See the 2023 R A Lee Stakes Preview and results.

See the 2022 R A Lee Stakes Preview and results.

The race was first held in 1979 as a Listed race over 1600m at Victoria Park called the Robert A. Lee Stakes and was won by a horse called Flanders Fields trained by Colin Hayes and ridden by Brent Thomson. The following year it was moved to the current location of Morphettville. From 1998 to 2010 the race name was changed many times to reflect the sponsors of the race and names include Pope Packaging Stakes, Dr Lewinn’s Stakes, Stuart Crytal Handicap, Pope Packaging Trophy, Gerard Corporation Stakes and Alan Scott Stakes. From 2011 on it has reverted back to the original name. In 2024 it was renamed the Cummings Stakes.

Useful Facts

Last mare to win: Foxy Frida (2023)

Last 3YO to win:  Filly – Majestic Music (2010); C&G – none

Multiple winners: Linton (2012 & 2013); Sylvaner (2002 & 2003); More Action (1999 & 2000); Blast The Glass (1988 & 1989).

Fastest time (1600m): Majestic Music (2010) 1:35:2

Interesting trivia:

Past winners of the R A Lee Stakes

Winners of past R A Lee Stakes include horses that go on to win major spring races.

Year Winner Second Third
2024 En Francais Jimmy The Bear Chicago Storm
2023 Foxy Frida So Si Bon Party Princess
2022 Belle Plaisir Cherry Tortoni Excelida
2021 Lord Vladivostok Dr Drill Vassilator
2020 Chapel City Seabrook Harbour Views
2019 Fastnet Tempest Waging War Brown Ben
2018 Land Of Plenty Over Exposure Lite’n In My Veins
2017 Burning Front Hooked Rhythm To Spare
2016 Tonopah Prince Of Penzance Rocket Commander
2015 The Bowler Excites Zelady Metaphorical
2014 Rhythm To Spare Starkiato Gig
2013 Linton Lucky Penny General Peekay
2012 Linton Hawks Bay Verco Road
2011 Budriguez Majestic Music Red Colossus
2010 Majestic Music Life To The Full Tagus
2009 Serious Speed Chasm Pinnacles
2008 Autumn Jeuney Goin To Jackson Peacemaker
2007 Brockmans Lass Red For Lou Lord Of The Dance
2006 Lifes A Bounty Smart And Mighty Tawqeet
2005 Sassbee Barabba Road Merlot Now
2004 Fly For Me Sylvaner Grundys Crossing
2003 Sylvaner None For The Road Circumnavigating
2002 Sylvaner Oliver Beer Market Price
2001 Typhoon Barney Gold Crystal Roralism
2000 More Action Burning Clay Our Guided Missile
1999 More Action Will Fly Celestial Body
1998 Ben’s Rocket Kipling Shearer Claude
1997 Bacy’s Brother Penghulu Akebono
1996 Jadeva Belle Yelgun Dawn Akebono
1995 Ruling Knight Sockerano Hillview Lady
1994 Master Tambo Oh Brother From The Park
1993 Leggings Picnicker Black Ransom
1992 Pay The Kings Our Dawn Star Windward Bay
1991 Pacific Braashee Run Straight Run
1990 Neja Nouvelle Silver Dupion
1989 Blast The Glass Magic Konstev Triple Tristram
1988 Blast The Glass Water Boatman Classic Coup
1987 Regal For Me Top Banner Ocean Cloud
1986 Knight Of Avon Warene Lady Marielle
1985 Mrs Fitzherbert Ocean Cloud Ankara
1984 Royal Balladeer Baglaga Boy Penny Edition
1983 Writ N Wonder Rio De Janeiro Grey Kildare
1982 Find The Gold Peta Gay Heavenly Time
1981 Welkin Light New Autumn Derby Downes
1980 Flanders Fields Pride Of The Plains Domax
1979 Lavadina Storm Cidium Tabarossa