The Queensland Oaks is a 2400 metre race for three-year-old fillies under set weight conditions. It is run by the Brisbane Racing Club and is held at Eagle Farm in late May or early June during the Brisbane Winter Racing Carnival.

  • Race Type: Group 1, 3YO Fillies Set Weights
  • Distance: 2400 metres
  • Track: Eagle Farm Racecourse, Brisbane, Queensland
  • Date: Saturday 29 May 2021

The Queensland Oaks was first held in 1951 over 12 furlongs and was won by Maltmaid. It is the major event for three-year-old fillies during the winter carnival in Brisbane and became a Group1 race in 1979. The race normally attracts a good mix of local and interstate runners. In 2015 it was held at Doomben – the first time it was not run at Eagle Farm. The return to Eagle Farm in 2016 was delayed by one week due to heavy rain. In 2017 it was switched to 2200m at Doomben because of issues with the track surface at Eagle Farm and also for 2018 due to reconstruction work at Eagle Farm. In 2020 it was cancelled due to the COVID-19 pandemic.

The major lead-up race to the Queensland Oaks is the Doomben Roses over 2020 metres and horses that run well in the Doomben Roses often go on to win the Oaks. In 2001 Ethereal won both races then went on to win the Caulfield Cup and Melbourne Cup. In general, the race does not attract as strong a field as the ATC Australian Oaks.

Queensland Oaks Final Field & Odds 2018

See below for early betting markets on this years Queensland Oaks.

Queensland Oaks Preview & Tips 2018

Track: Good   Weather: Fine

There is a full field of 16 runners for the $500,000 2017 Treasury Brisbane Queensland Oaks. Six of them last raced in the Group 2 The Roses over 2000m two weeks ago and three in the Group 1 Schweppes Oaks three weeks ago. The early favourite is The Roses winner Youngstar who has won her last 3 races and is one of five runners for Chris Waller. The second favourite is Another Dollar who was run down for 2nd in The Roses. The third favourite is Aloisia who worked home strongly for 1.6 lengths 6th in the Schweppes Oaks and should appreciate the extra 200m.

Savacool who was 7th in the Schweppes Oaks following a Caulfield win in April. Sheezdashing came with a huge run for a close 2nd in the Schweppes Oaks. Tinkermosa was 2nd over 2130m at Warwick Farm following a win in the Wagga Guineas. Terra Sancta has won her last 2 starts. Coral Coast and Play That Song finished 4th and 7th respectively in The Roses. All other runners are currently at 33 to 1 or longer.

The following are the top 4 selections from our tipster panel for this year’s race.

Jo’s Tips
3 Youngstar
2 Sheezdashing
1 Aloisia
5 Another Dollar

Previous winners of the Queensland Oaks:

New Zealand-trained fillies have an excellent record in this race, and when Miss Keepsake won in 2010 she joined the likes of Eskimo Queen (2007), Vouvray (2004), Ethereal (2001), Giovana (2000), Crystal Palace (1997), Royal Magic (1992) and Travel Light (1985). The jockey with the most wins in the Queensland Oaks is Chris Munce with wins on Miss Keepsake (2010), Vouvray (2004), Zagalia (2003) and Giovana (2000).

Notable winners from past Queensland Oaks include Arctic Scent, Slight Chance, Triscay, Show Ego, Surround, Denise’s Joy, Analie, Mode and Evening Peal. The 1976 winner Denise’s Joy was the dam of 1995 winner Joie Denise and the granddam of 1999 winner Miss Danehill.

Year Winner Second Third
2020  ** Race not run **
2019 Winning Ways Dawson Diva Lady Cuvee
2018 Youngstar Another Dollar Sheezdashing
2017 Egg Tart Pygmy Oklahoma Girl
2016 Provocative Ambience Falkenberg
2015 Winx Ungrateful Ellen Imperial Lass (NZ)
2014 Tinto Arabian Gold Sister Souss
2013 Gondokoro (NZ) Miss Zenella (NZ) Vaquera (NZ)
2012 Quintessential (NZ) Eliza Blues (NZ) Vittoria (NZ)
2011 Scarlett Lady Becerra Shez Sinsational
2010 Miss Keepsake(NZ) Marheta Danaupair Starlet
2009 Purple Nothin Leica Cat Walk In The Park (NZ)
2008 Riva San Rathsallagh (NZ) Heavenly Glow
2007 Eskimo Queen (NZ) Doug’s Mate Rose Of Sharon
2006 Allow Vietnam Stars In Flight (NZ)
2005 Vitesse Dane Cenque Cento Tick By
2004 Vouvray (NZ) Zumanity (NZ) Winning Belle (NZ)
2003 Zagalia (NZ) The Jewel (NZ) Penny Gem (NZ)
2002 Mon Mekki Night Chaser Quays
2001 Ethereal (NZ) Tempest Morn Altiero (NZ)
2000 Giovana (NZ) Citirecruit Figurante (NZ)