Prix de l’Arc de Triomphe Race Information

The Prix de l’Arc de Triomphe is one of the most prestigious horse races in Europe. It is a set weight race for three-year-olds and up over 2400 metres, but no geldings are allowed. Often referred to as the “Arc” it is held on the first Sunday of October.

  • Race Type: Group 1
  • Distance: 2400 metres
  • Conditions: Set weights for 3YO and up, excluding geldings
  • Track: Longchamp Racecourse, Paris, France
  • Prizemoney: €5 million
  • Date: Sunday, 1 October 2023

Prix de l’Arc de Triomphe Race History

The Arc was first run in 1920 when it was won by Comrade. It had high prizemoney from its inception and was open to international horses three-year-old and older with the aim of encouraging French breeders, as much of their best bloodstock had been decimated by the First World War. It was cancelled in 1939 and 1940 during World War II and was moved to Le Tremblay over 2,300 metres during 1943 and 1944.

It is Europe’s top race for three-year-olds and above over the classic 2,400 metres, and normally attracts entries from several European countries and other parts of the world. It is currently the world’s fourth richest turf race, following the Evereset, Melbourne Cup and the Japan Cup. Longchamp racecourse is on the banks of the River Seine and the race is steeped in tradition and style.

2021 was the 100th running of the race. In 2022 the bottom-rated runners were eliminated  for the first time in the race’s history. Among those who missed out were Australia’s champion mare Verry Elleegant, Prix de Diane runner-up La Parisienne and the Ed and Simon Crisford-trained West Wind Blows. In 2023 the maximum field size was increased from 20 to 24 as the ParisLongchamp track is so huge there are no safety issues with 24 runners.

Useful Facts

Multiple winners: Enable (2017 & 2018), Treve (2013 & 2014), Alleged (1977 & 1978), Ribot (1955 & 1956), Tantieme (1950 & 1951), Corrida (1936 & 1937), Motrico (1930 & 1932) and Ksar (1921 & 1922)

Interesting trivia:

Past winners of the Prix de l’Arc de Triomphe

Eight horses have managed to win this race on more than one occasion – Enable (2017 and 2018), Treve (2013 and 2014), Alleged (1977 and 1978), Ribot (1955 and 1956), Tantieme (1950, 1951), Corrida (1936 and 1937), Motrico (1930 and 1932) and Ksar (1921 and 1922). Alleged was the great grandson of the Tesio-bred Ribot and both had vicious tempers and were almost unmanageable. Motrico was the oldest horse to win, at seven years of age in 1932.Horses foaled in Ireland have a great record in the race, and three-year-old colts have the best strike-rate. When Zarkava won the race in 2008 she was the first filly to win in 15 years and then retired undefeated after 7 wins. Fillies Danedream (2011), Solemia (2012), Treve (2013 and 2014) and Enable (2017 and 2018) have won since then. The most successful trainer is Andre Fabre with seven winners from 1987 to 2006. In 2016 Aidan O’Brien trained first.second and third. Arc winners are always sought after at stud.

Year Winner Second Third
2023 Ace Impact Westover Onesto
2022 Alpinista Vadeni Torquator Tasso
2021 Torquator Tasso Tarnawa Hurricane Lane
2020 Sottsass In Swoop Persian King
2019 Waldgeist Enable Sottsass
2018 Enable Sea Of Class Cloth Of Stars
2017 Enable Cloth Of Stars Ulysses
2016 Found Highland Reel Order Of St George
2015 Golden Horn Flintshire New Bay
2014 Treve Flintshire Taghrooda
2013 Treve Orfevre (JPN) Intello
2012 Solemia (IRE) Orfevre (JPN) Masterstroke (USA)
2011 Danedream (GER) Shareta (IRE) Snow Fairy (IRE)
2010 Workforce Nakayama Festa Sarafina (FR)
2009 Sea The Stars (IRE) Youmzain (IRE) Cavalryman
2008 Zarkava (IRE) Youmzain (IRE) Soldier Of Fortune (IRE)
2007 Dylan Thomas Youmzain (IRE) Sagara (USA)
2006 Rail Link Pride (FR) Deep Impact (JPN)
2005 Hurrricane Run Westerner Bago (FR)
2004 Bago (FR) Cherry Mix (FR) Ouija Board
2003 Dalakhani (IRE) Mubtaker (USA) High Chaparral (IRE)
2002 Marienbard (IRE) Sulamani (IRE) High Chaparral (IRE)
2001 Sakhee (USA) Aquarelliste (FR) Sagacity (FR)
2000 Sinndar (IRE) Egyptband (USA) Volvoreta