Port Adelaide Cup Race Information

The Port Adelaide Cup is a 2500 metre quality handicap race run by the South Australian Jockey Club in early May. It is held at Morphettville on the same day as the Australasian Oaks and the TAB Classic.

  • Race Type: Listed
  • Distance: 2500 metres
  • Conditions: Quality handicap
  • Track: Morphettville Racecourse, Adelaide, South Australia
  • Prizemoney: $100,000
  • Date: Saturday 1 May 2021

Port Adelaide Cup Race History

The race was first held over 1.5 miles (about 2400m) at Cheltenham in 1906 and was won by a horse called Enigma.

Useful Facts

Last mare to win: Oceanex (2020)

Multiple winners: Brugan (1973 & 1974); Caliente (1971 & 1972); Jovial Knight (1966 & 1968); Saint Warden (1943 & 1944); Lemina (1924 & 1925); Bangonie (1914 & 1917).

Fastest time (2500m): Motivado (2016) 2:36:42

Interesting trivia: In 1934 there was a dead-heat for the win between Mellion and Supervalve.

Past winners of the Port Adelaide Cup

Winners of past Port Adelaide Cups include horses that go on to win major spring races.

Year Winner Second Third
2020 Oceanex Sopressa Disco Rebel
2019 Valac Sopressa Meli Melo
2018 Yogi Exalted LIghtning Benzini
2017 Time To Test High Church Unfurl
2016 Zanteca Ungrateful Ellen Falago
2015 Go Dreaming Gamblin’ Guru Clarify
2014 Ominous Zabeelionaire Vima
2013 Motivado Shiny Buttons Finiguerra
2012 Finiguerra Texan Warney Rowland
2011 Maunatrice Zauberin Foxham
2010 Right Fong Kerdem Its Theone
2009 Foolish Lad Brad Star Cuban Girl
2008 Richracer Lacey Underall Ready For More
2007 Wells Street McCloud Iguana
2006 Tingirana Royal Player Nikalapko
2005  ** Race not held **
2004 Mr Tambourineman Exalted Time Entangle
2003 Odysseus Tiona William Of Oz
2002 Moongara William Of Oz Maybe Arch
2001 Astrolante Blue Ted Inflewinzer
2000 Rydell High Jamestown Mr Selby
1999 King’s Landing Jamestown Scrupulous