Phelan Ready Stakes Race Information

The Phelan Ready Stakes is a 1000 metre set weights race for two-year-old colts and geldings run by the Brisbane Racing Club in December. It is held at Eagle Farm as one of the feature races on the programme.

  • Race Type: Listed
  • Distance: 1000 metres
  • Conditions: Set weights, 2YO colts & geldings
  • Track: Eagle Farm Racecourse, Brisbane, Queensland
  • Prizemoney: $200,000
  • Date: Saturday 9 December 2023

Phelan Ready Stakes Race History

See the 2023 Phelan Ready Preview and results

See the 2022 Phelan Ready Preview and results

The race was first held as a Principal Race over 5 furlongs (about 1000m) called the QTC Hopeful Stakes in 1939 and was won by Sea Bird. In 1971 the name was changed to the QTC JF Meynink Stakes and it was won by Positano. In 1972 the distance became 1000m and in 1979 it became a Listed race. In 2000 the distance was increased to 1200m. The race wasn’t held in 2007 due to equine influenza, then in 2008 the distance was reduced to 1000m. In 2009 the name was changed to the Phelan Ready Stakes. In 2013 it was moved to Doomben where it was run until 2019 over 1010m (2013), 1050m (2014-2015) and 1110m (2016 -2019). In 2020 it returned to Eagle Farm over 1000m.

The equivalent race for fillies is the Calaway Gal Stakes which has a much shorter history as it was first held in 2005.

Phelan Ready was a brown gelding foaled on 3 September 2006  who won the 2009 Golden Slipper.

Useful Facts

Fastest time (1000m): Sir Luminar (2012) 0:57:14

Interesting trivia: Chris Munce won as a jockey on Sir Luminar (2012) and Wicked Intent (2014) then won as a trainer in 2016 (Ours To Keep). Race not run in 2007 due to equine influenza.

Past winners of the Phelan Ready Stakes

Winners of past Phelan Ready Stakes include horses that go on to win major races.

Year Winner Second Third
2023 Beau Dazzler Mishani Explorer Butwedid
2022 Godfather Cifrado Capital Chase
2021 Palazzo Spirit Hard To Say Swiss Exile
2020 Alpine Edge Cochrane Baby Wong
2019 Rathlin Kavak War Memorial
2018 The Odyssey Sun City Krameric
2017 Ef Troop Crockett Commissioner
2016 Ours To Keep Snitzkraft Despatch